517,644 active members
2,930 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > VFD interface to other equipment.
Page 4 of 4 234
Results 61 to 66 of 66
  1. #61

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    So the rs485 is my only option then? I’ll have t
    Order one if so. I was hoping to get it to work with what I have now

  2. #62
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10882

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    I’ve been reading such different approaches to the same components I have, I can’t get any of them to work. My next thing is to try an order an rs485
    If you don't have a relay for the On / Off then it is not going to work with this VFD Drive from the G540 output you have to switch a Relay On / Off from the control and the output of the Relay is then connected to the FWD and ACM Terminals there is no voltage involved with this so if you have used any voltage to these connections you may have some damage

    Or use the Modbus which can be a challenge also for some to setup
    Mactec54

  3. #63

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Sorry for my ignorance, is the modbus the same as the rs485?

  4. #64
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23257

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    Sorry for my ignorance, is the modbus the same as the rs485?
    Yes, RS485 is the serial hardware standard used, Modbus is the data format. But technically Huanyang use a 'Loose' form of Modbus.
    Although I also have used the method I outlined here on VFD's such as yours and ones that have the same input format, which is typical, source type opto inputs. Eliminates the need for a relay.
    See https://www.cnczone.com/forums/spind...equipment.html
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  5. #65

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    I read through this, but even after . I still cannot get mine to work properly. If I turn my gecko G540 off my spindle turns on. And stays on. And Mach 3 will only turn the spindle on for a second or two then trips the estop

  6. #66
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23257

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Sounds like something else going on there that is not that obvious from here.
    Does the VFD run in manual input mode?
    Or in the programmed mode but manually input the start via a P.B. e.g. etc.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  7. #67
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10882

    Re: VFD interface to other equipment.

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhatley View Post
    I read through this, but even after . I still cannot get mine to work properly. If I turn my gecko G540 off my spindle turns on. And stays on. And Mach 3 will only turn the spindle on for a second or two then trips the estop
    It never will work with this VFD Drive you have and the G540 without a Relay
    Mactec54

  8. #68
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Sounds like something else going on there that is not that obvious from here.
    Does the VFD run in manual input mode?
    Or in the programmed mode but manually input the start via a P.B. e.g. etc.
    Al.
    It works fine on its own.. but if I hook it up to the G540 it does this.
    Pin 5 forward
    Pin 7 acm
    Pin 8 vi
    Pin 9 +10v
    Pin 12 ( tied in with the other grounds) to dcm

    Thinking the relay may need to be added?

    I’ve got a relay and an rs485 adapter coming. Somehow I’m
    Going to get this to work, I just wish it wasn’t such a pain.


    Just as a side note, if I take the dcm from the vfd and touch it to basically any of the terminals on the G540 breakout board ( with the power off ) the spindle will turn on.

Page 4 of 4 234

Similar Threads

  1. Interface board Rodgers board/ Romaxx Encoder Interface.
    By Ark1 in forum Wood Lathes / Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-23-2013, 10:57 PM
  2. USED CNC EQUIPMENT
    By ptd in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 04:20 PM
  3. CNC EQUIPMENT
    By ptd in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 03:09 AM
  4. What equipment to get?
    By outsider787 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2011, 05:02 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •