585,737 active members*
4,543 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > Commercial CNC Wood Routers > Chinese Machines > Just got a 6040T and have a few questions

Just got a 6040T and have a few questions

Hey guys, My 6040T arrived last week and it came 95% assembled, All I had to do was fit the stepper motors and plug it in... A few questions have come to mind and I would appreciate some advice..

#1 Doing my research before It came various videos/articles said to turn the Axis by had via the knob on the stepper motor and it should feel smooth... All 3 of my axis feel very consistant and move quite easily but they do have a very slight grinding feel to them (very slight) and not a 100% smooth sliding feeling I was expecting (altho I have zero experience with stepper motors) oh and my Machine has ball screws if that makes a difference.

#2 Which lead me to my second question, Since it came assembled I was not sure if there is any adjustments to the slides/carriages anywhere? if so is there a link to the process to adjusting it correctly?

#3 Do I need to lubricate the sliding bars and ball screws? while doing my pre research I found that you did and you can use with a flow of oil or grease... I decided to use a spray grease and sprayed some on the X-axis ball screw and slide rails and then jogged it back and forth across the full range of movement but the ball screw and slide bearings have rubber "scrappers" on the outside and seemed to just push all the lube off to the ends... There does seem to still be a very very thin layer of lube on the slides but yeh, just wondering if thats normal.. Also on the Y-Axis underneath the machine the ball screw assembly actually has a grease nipple attached but none of the other axis do??