584,817 active members*
5,103 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Hobby Projects > Musical Instrument Design and Construction > How I use CNC in acoustic guitar building
Page 1 of 4 123

How I use CNC in acoustic guitar building

I wanted to start a thread to document my approach to CNC for building acoustic guitars. I've spent the last two years building (CNCRouterParts.com) my own machine from a kit and learning how to program it (Fusion 360) for use in guitar building.

I am a hobbyist woodworker and luthier. By day I'm a software consultant, but woodworking is my passion. For the past 5 years I've been building 1 guitar per year which is donated to the local High School marching band (of which my son is an alumni) for a fundraiser. We typically raise about 3 to 4K per year doing this (it is a raffle). Here is the blog I keep with pictures and entries for the past guitars: AHS Band Boosters Guitar

I've just started my 12th guitar, which is a commission for my Uncle Jon.

My original motivation for starting in CNC was to do my own inlays for the fretboard, but as I climbed the learning curve, I realized that I could do much much more with it for guitar building….so I’ll be documenting the build of #12 here. Don’t have an easy way to do videos yet, so for now I’ll just post pictures.

Still have lots of ideas for jigging to bring CNC ops in, but this is what I have now.....(sorry, don't have a GoPro for filming myself yet)

Post 1: Neck prep:

I start with a 3/4" x 3" x 36" neck blank and first make a scarf joint

Attachment 351714

I used to have a table sled scarf joint jig, but was never happy with the accuracy of the cut I was getting, so instead will bandsaw the scarf joint. Here is
    a marking tool I CNC'd out of MDF so I don't have measure to get the line in just the right place on the blank:

Attachment 351716