584,802 active members*
4,833 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Hyundai Kia > Bar puller programming?
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    100

    Bar puller programming?

    I am wondering if there is a better way to program multiple pieces.
    I have a MPF that calls an SPF multiple times.
    The SPF does the actual machining.
    This works OK, but I don't like the way I have to access the SPF for editing and saving,
    Editing and saving the MPF is easy while in the RUN mode,
    but to get to the SPF I have to got to PROGRAM, SUBPROGRAMS, choose the SPF, edit it, then page down through the WORKPIECES to save it.
    I don't have a bar feeder, but use a bar puller with these programs.
    Regards, Ray
    ​"There is no such thing as a gun free zone."
    Ray Brandes, Ray-Vin.Com, PCB, FL 32408 USA

  2. #2

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    I do it the other way, I have my machining in the MPF file & call the sub program for the bar pulling. Then I just get the MPF file to loop however many times I need it to which is usually the number of components I can get out of a length of bar. This way you can edit the mpf as you'd normally do when running & only need to load the SPF(Unless you want to edit the lengths the bar puller is using etc)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    100

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    Quote Originally Posted by atmosports View Post
    Then I just get the MPF file to loop however many times I need it to which is usually the number of components I can get out of a length of bar.
    How do you get an MPF file to loop? I haven't been able to do that.
    Regards, Ray
    ​"There is no such thing as a gun free zone."
    Ray Brandes, Ray-Vin.Com, PCB, FL 32408 USA

  4. #4

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    The easiest way is between the M05 &M30 at the end of the MPF, insert the following:
    @100 K-5

    The @100 command makes it return to the start of the program. The K-5 part tells it which line to start from so in this can Line5 or N5, if you use @100K-15 it would start on line 15 or N15
    I then set the parts counter to the same amount of components I get out of a bar so it'll run the bar then stop.


    Another way of doing it is using the R48/R49 parameters
    To do this you'll need to add more lines into your program: Sample as below

    N5 G18 G54 G90 G71 G95
    N10 R49=4
    N11 R48=1
    N15 R48=R48+1
    N20 G92 S2000
    ,
    ,
    ,
    N790 G90
    N795 M55
    N800 @123 R48 R49 K-15
    N805 G90 G58 Z0
    N810 M30

    the @123 tells the control that when r48 is less than r49 it must repeat the MPF. When R48 is equal or greater than R49 it will continue to the end of the program, the K-15 tells it which line to start on. R49 is the number of repeats in this case above it's 4

    This works on all our lathes running 840c Controls, I haven't had to do it on the 840d controls yet but I'd imagine it'd be similar as most things are the same

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    100

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    Atmosports,
    I will try it tomorrow. I tried in the past with something like this:

    N10
    .
    .
    .
    @100 K10
    M30

    But it didn't work. I suppose @100 K-10 will do the trick, no?

    Regards, Ray
    ​"There is no such thing as a gun free zone."
    Ray Brandes, Ray-Vin.Com, PCB, FL 32408 USA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    322

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    No "-" before on the K parameter means that indicated block number is beeing seek after this line.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    100

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    Atmo and all,
    Success! I am using the parts counter to stop when the bar is finished. Thanks for all your help! - Ray

    N10 (initial bar puller to set start point)
    ---
    N20 (bar puller to pull stock to position)
    M55
    N30 (form tool)
    N40 (thread)
    N50 (knurl)
    N60 (part)
    @100 K-20
    M30
    ​"There is no such thing as a gun free zone."
    Ray Brandes, Ray-Vin.Com, PCB, FL 32408 USA

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3

    Re: Bar puller programming?

    Thanks RBrandes...good stuff to know!

Similar Threads

  1. Bar puller programming
    By FUN4ME in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 11:12 AM
  2. Bar Puller
    By BCARL in forum Cincinnati CNC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-27-2017, 11:06 AM
  3. Help programming a bar puller
    By Home Machinist in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2012, 01:42 AM
  4. Programming a bar puller in X2 on a lathe
    By bob1112 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 05:05 PM
  5. Bur Puller programming
    By Genie in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 01:48 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •