585,741 active members*
4,794 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Laser Engraving and Cutting Machines > Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics > Chinese Laser Cutter: Need ASAP Advice on Customs Clearance Charges by AMASS

Chinese Laser Cutter: Need ASAP Advice on Customs Clearance Charges by AMASS

I bought a 1600mm x 1000mm laser cutter from JQ Laser in China for about $5k (give or take). Unit has all the typical options—chiller, 100watt laser tube, power supply, up down table, vent fan, etc. The total charges included deliver to Birmingham, Alabama. This is my first time buying a laser cutter.

So, I am working with AMASS to clear customs in NYC who was recommended by JQ Laser where the container was unloaded. They (AMASS) quoted me $180 to clear customs. The container was shipped on 1/27/17, crate arrived nyc on 2/22/17, and just cleared customs on 3/7/17. I just got an invoice for $1143 and was advised that the machine would be shipped by truck to a facility in my town and that I would need to pay for cfs warehouse charges in Birmingham to get it to my home. Here is a breakdown of the charges on the invoice:

CUSTOMS ENTRY FEE: 180.00
    ISF FILING: 153.78
    CUSTOMS DUTY: 75.00
    CUSTOMS BOND: 60.00
    OTHER GOVT AGENCY: 60.00
    CBP FDA: 89.00
    HANDLING CHARGE: 90.00
    SECURITY FEE: 25.00
    STRIPPING FEE: 92.25
    Others: 228.78
    ------------------------------------------
    Total: 1143.81

I am supposed to pay by money order or cashiers check. My contract (Alibaba) with JQ Laser was for deliver to Birmingham, so they appear to be honoring the contract. But, I researched this whole process pretty well and never imagined that clearing customs in the US would cost more than $500. $1143.81 seems outrageous.

HELP!:

1. Does anyone have experience with this and any idea why it would cost so much and is that amount reasonable?