585,687 active members*
4,534 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Optimum BF20LV accuracy / things to inspect before purchase?

Question Optimum BF20LV accuracy / things to inspect before purchase?

Hi all, after reading and watching a few owner testomonials on the internet (particularly Haas's page) I'm looking at purchasing a BF20LV mill in Australia. I am just getting into machining and this will be my first mill.

Are they accurate machines in terms of table flatness, spindle runout, and other important parameters? I approached a vendor here and his response was "specify what you need and we'll find a machine in the warehouse to match those specs". But as a newbie I'm unsure of what to ask for. I could ask for absolutely zero runout and a table flatter than a grade a surface plate but I realise that's ridiculous. On the flipside, I'm not sure what's reasonable.

Could any veterans/owners give me a list of things I should ask for in the particular BF20 I'm getting, in terms of specs and perhaps other common problems to look out for? Thanks.

Re: Optimum BF20LV accuracy / things to inspect before purchase?

You will get a out of the box mill from a re seller.

Most the time all is OK but you may need to work on the fit of the Gib strips, sand out some high spots on the ways and adjust and grease the preload on the spindle bearings if they are too tight.

Most tables are +- .003" and spindle runout is under .002" which is fine.

They come with a spec sheet which I bet have nothing to do with the mill you receive.
    youtube videos of the G0704 under the name arizonavideo99

Quote Originally Posted by arizonavideo View Post
    You will get a out of the box mill from a re seller.

Most the time all is OK but you may need to work on the fit of the Gib strips, sand out some high spots on the ways and adjust and grease the preload on the spindle bearings if they are too tight.