509,658 active members
3,889 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2

    no axis movement

    I have not gotten much assistance from the hobbycnc website, and am only making things worse trying to fix this on my own. I purchased a 3 axis pro board, and after completing the initial assembly, I had 4.93v at the test point. I completed the rest of the assembly, set the current on all three axis to .42v, and installed the board. Initially, I had very slow movement on the y axis, and none on the other ones. After a few minutes, the motor shut down as if it were going into protect mode. If I turn the board off for a few minutes and turn it back on, it goes for about 5 secs, then shuts down power to the motors again. I removed the board, verified I still had 5v, and checked the current on the axis again. I had .42 to x and y, but now have no voltage at all on the z pad. I am using a 12v pwr supply for testing and have 11.79v on the U6 regulator, and 4.93 on U5 and U7. I also have continuity on all three posts of the z axis pot. I have also verified everything is oriented correctly, and all solder joints appear solid with no bridges. I also now only have 0.006v on the y axis. I do still have .42v on the x axis. Thanks for any help, Scott.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2

    Re: no axis movement

    It appears the two pins that send signal to the pots for my y and z axis are shorted together. It is not that way on my x axis that still works. What would cause this to short together. Surely I haven't fried the driver chips that easily.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    1851

    Re: no axis movement

    Quote Originally Posted by scottmcgraw View Post
    It appears the two pins that send signal to the pots for my y and z axis are shorted together. It is not that way on my x axis that still works. What would cause this to short together. Surely I haven't fried the driver chips that easily.
    That's impossible to answer unless we can actually repair your machine. Many things can cause a short circuit and without actually following the signals it is not possible to say why.

Similar Threads

  1. 3 Axis CNC Mill Software for PC - Checking Axis Movement
    By rickwoz in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-05-2015, 04:06 AM
  2. uncommanded A axis movement when doing 4 axis work.
    By Tristar500 in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-12-2014, 02:47 AM
  3. X axis differential to create Y axis movement.
    By mpatterson557 in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-10-2014, 12:18 AM
  4. Grinding and unexpected axis movement if rapiding 2 axis
    By DarkSabre in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-26-2010, 05:37 AM
  5. 4th axis movement (and a few other gen ?s)
    By corpse in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2004, 12:13 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •