584,866 active members*
5,068 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question New to Parametric Programming

Hi Im new to parametric programming (Custom Macro). Im not sure if our controller is parametric programming compatible (Quictech with Syntec 900T controller). I read somewhere that if I type in the command #101=1 and the controller doesn't issue an alarm, then the controller is compatible. Is this correct? I did this and there was no alarm.

More importantly, how can I find out which system variables are linked to which offsets? (eg. System variables from the #2000 series relate to tool length offset values.) - Not sure if this is correct.

I would like to create a parametric program to set the tool lengths automatically.

Any help, pointers and info would be appreciated.

070226-1656 EST USA

weaston:

I personally would not directly link "Parametric" with "MACRO". But it may be that you require MACROS to do Parametric programming.

What is your understanding or definition of Parametric Programming?

MACRO in the CNC field is quite different than MACRO in the computer field. In the CNC field MACROs are an extension of the standard G & M code program language and may provide variables, functions that can be performed on the variables, parameter passing to subroutines, and some special functions like DPRNT.

My definition of parametric programming is where you create some general sub-program for a particular class of applications with variables in the sub-program that you can provide specific values to at the time of execution of the sub-program to make a specific part or pattern.

So long as you have the ability to use variables then you can do parametric programming. Your test of #101 = 1 with no error seems to imply "MACRO" capability. Proceed a little further and try something like the following in a program.

#101 = 1.0
    #102 = 5.0
    G54
    G00 X 0 Y 0
    G01 X#101 Y#102