584,330 active members*
6,069 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Prolight 3000 Turning Center
Page 1 of 2 12

Prolight 3000 Turning Center

I just bought a Prolight 3000 lathe turning center from a closing school. Came with everything, ATC, ISA card, control box and everything else. I would like to upgrade it tho because the softwaer is kinda limited and computer is old because of isa card. I looked up a little and doing a Mach3 conversion is apparently the way to go. I am very new at this, only have worked with new CNC never modified any. What would be the parts I need? I know I would need a control board but is that it? What brand is the best for this application and somewhat easy?? Thanks!

Re: Prolight 3000 Turning Center

I bought a Prolight 3000 last year. It had come from a school, and I got it intact and working, original computer and all. I have used it several times since, and I can just say - use it the way it is. The software does all the normal things, and you don't have to mess around with anything. It's not hard to use, once you are used to the interface. Mine runs under Win95, so yes it's old. However, it works just fine, so I use it as is. Since you are just learning anyway, there is no advantage to updating the controls until they fail on you. Keep in mind that that may happen, but until then - make chips!

Incidentally - you have a lucky find - mine didn't come with the turret(ATC), nor a tailstock (factory option, never installed). I found a second one, with no driver box or computer, and it doesn't have the ATC or tailstock, either. (The second one is set up for gang-tooling, though).

Quote Originally Posted by DSpeck View Post