584,817 active members*
4,973 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

CNC Router Electronics?

Hello folks,

I am a bit new to all of this, and have a couple questions that I haven't been able to find an answer to.

I have the knowledge and ability to build the mechanical side of a CNC machine, however I am struggling with how this is intergraded with a controller and software.

For example, Say I build a CNC router with a table 8ft x 4ft, and a Gantry with a Z axis with 4" of vertical travel.

I install Stepper motors with sufficent power to drive all axis's.

How do I then configure controller so It knows its travel limits for each axis, as well as its location on each axis at all times?

Is there a controller package available that would work in this sort of setup, and can be programmed, or can "Learn" how much travel the hardware has etc.

Can anyone point me to a good starting point for this, I'd hate to build a nice big beautiful solid machine and then be unable to drive/control it.

cheers

Re: CNC Router Electronics?

How do I then configure controller so It knows its travel limits for each axis, as well as its location on each axis at all times?
    You install home switches on your machine, and when you turn it on, you run a homing routine, which sets a reference position on your machine.
    Many controls allow you to specify softlimits, which the machine won't exceed. These softlimit positions are relative to the home position.

Most hobby or lower cost controls are open loop systems. They only know where the machine is supposed to be, but there is no feedback to tell them where the machine actually is.

There are a variety of control systems available, and all work similarly.
    UCCNC
    LinuxCNC
    Eding CNC
    Planet CNC
    Mach3/Mach4
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints