586,009 active members*
5,114 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

spindle recommendation please

Hi,

I have a Merchant Dice machine which runs well and is ideal for me to learn on. Problem is the Kress router which came with the machine has burnt out/stopped working after only a few hours of operation. I've read that this is a common problem with these routers so need to upgrade. I don't have much technical nohow but am thinking a watercooled chinese spindle capable of cutiing both wood (primarily) and soft metals where needed.

Any advice is very much appreciated as to where/who to buy from.

I have had a look on both ebay and Amazon but not really sure what would be best to use with my machine.

I realise I will require a new spindle mount, pump etc so any help with links to these as well would be most helpful.

I should mention, I am using the machine to cut out guitar bodies primarily.

Thanks in advance

Neil

Re: spindle recommendation please

Im a total noob and just learning and don't want to send you in the wrong direction, but there's a member who is also making guitars etc , and he's using this one and quite happy with it .
    I'm buying one myself and will be interested to hear what the experts here have to say

TOP QUALITY 3KW WATER-COOLED MOTOR SPINDLE ENGRAVING MILL GRIND 220V | eBay

Quote Originally Posted by MajorTendonitis View Post
    Im a total noob and just learning and don't want to send you in the wrong direction, but there's a member who is also making guitars etc , and he's using this one and quite happy with it .
    I'm buying one myself and will be interested to hear what the experts here have to say

TOP QUALITY 3KW WATER-COOLED MOTOR SPINDLE ENGRAVING MILL GRIND 220V | eBay
    Hey, thanks so much for taking the time to reply, I really appreciate any help, I'm a complete novice at cnc myself so pointing me in any direction is better than me going in circles

Quote Originally Posted by lawdayinst View Post