584,817 active members*
4,613 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > CNC Swiss Screw Machines > Setting drills, ID tools and back working/end working tools

Setting drills, ID tools and back working/end working tools

Can someone explain the setting of ID tools and back working/end working tools? I mainly want to know how the offsets work, where you find them in the program and how do use them to set the tool. What do the W and U's mean and do? I'm new to citizens and need as much help as possible. I'll be running L20, C16, K's and M32's.
    Thank you for all your help!!

Re: Setting drills, ID tools and back working/end working tools

You might want to give Citizen in NJ a call. Or Dynamic Detroit. Citizen has legendary phone service. They are very pleased to help. They'll also review your programs (you gotta write it though) and tell you what needs to be modified.

Generally speaking the machines have a position which is zero, unlike a regular turret lathe where you always set the zero for each tool. That takes some getting used to. But I also find setting the back spindle tools a bit awkward.

Quote Originally Posted by lasernerd View Post
    You might want to give Citizen in NJ a call. Or Dynamic Detroit. Citizen has legendary phone service. They are very pleased to help. They'll also review your programs (you gotta write it though) and tell you what needs to be modified.

Generally speaking the machines have a position which is zero, unlike a regular turret lathe where you always set the zero for each tool. That takes some getting used to. But I also find setting the back spindle tools a bit awkward.
    I second Citizen's phone service. They are second to none in my book! They will help, as mentioned, with program issues, and a whole lot more!