585,676 active members*
5,522 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 2 12

buying a machine with Y axis vibration

Hi all

I'm a hobbyist and I've come across a Chinese 'XYZ Magnum' machine that is very cheap, 2000 euros.

However it has a vibration in the Y axis that is stopping it from working properly. At the moment the company have the speed slowed right down but the vibration is still evident even at that speed.

What I know about the machine;

its old, maybe 2005

It's an 8x4 with a water cooled spindle

Its driven underneath with a ball screw / lead screw and two circular rails on either side of the gantry.

I'm new to the CNC game. I was going to build a table and I was gathering info and the tools required for the build, and then I came across this.

If it could be repaired it would save me six months build time. Any thoughts on what might be wrong with it, or tips regarding this purchase in general? Any and all insight / opinions welcomed.

is it worth a shot or should i avoid like the plague?

kind regards,
    ned .

Re: buying a machine with Y axis vibration

I would buy it if it were in my area. That's a big machine for the price. Something like that in my area would go for 6000 (USD though) easily. Ask them for a recording of the vibration, we might be able to tell what's wrong that way. Causes could be anything from a bent ballscrew, bad coupler, bad motor alignment, bad support bearings. Worst case you would have to replace the entire ballscrew assembly which is cheap from china, but shipping will probably be killer. Given it's length I would just retrofit the machine with a rack and pinion.

I would go to see the machine, watch it jog around and see what's up. Maybe have them disconnect the y axis ballnut and move the gantry around by hand just to make sure the problem is with the drive mechanism and not the linear rails.

thankyou thankyou thankyou thankyou