585,585 active members*
3,789 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Starting knee-mill retrofit. Your input appreciated.

Question Starting knee-mill retrofit. Your input appreciated.

I've just taken delivery of a full sized knee-mill (a Sharp bridgeport clone with 3hp/4500 max RPM vari-speed head). It was converted to 2-axis CNC over a decade ago, but the controls are dead. So, I've got a mill with X/Y ballscrews, an appropriately sized power supply, and servos with mechanicals on the X & Y axis -- a great place to start a retrofit. The current servos are 70V Nema 42 size, so I'm going to go the Mach 3/ Gecko G320 route. I've already got a VFD to run it on the single phase in my garage/shop (GS2 from Automation Direct).

Some questions for the list (any & all input greatly appreciated - I've never done this before):
    1) Z-axis: I'd like to CNC-enable either the quill or the knee. Currently, I'm leaning toward the knee due to greater travel and less cost/complexity.
    - Anyone out there got drawings/.dxf's for knee mechanicals they'd be willing to share?
    - Anyone know a source (other than eBay - I'm watching it) for NEMA 42 servos appropriate for the knee?

2) Motion controller: I'm willing to fork out the $400 for a G-Rex, since I'm tempted by the smooth, fast motion it promises, plus I won't need to invest in a breakout-board (which removes the p-port requirement on the computer). However, I hear an awful lot of problems/complications with that unit.
    - Is the GRex worth the hassle?
    - Is the ncPod with a ModIO unit likely to be a better bet? (I do want to use a pendant of some sort and understand that the ncPod won't support one, hence the need for ModIO. ModIO also makes up for the IO shortcomings of the ncPod in a big way).