585,749 active members*
3,618 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Odd G01 behavior in Mach3?

G-Code newbie here....

With 20000 steps per inch, velocity set to 300IPM and acceleration set to 20in's/sec/sec, is there a reason why these two routines should behave differently;

; Routine 1
    G00 X0
    M98 P1 L1
    M30
    O1
    G00 X-9.00
    G00 X0
    M99

;Routine 2
    G01 X0 F300
    M98 P1 L1
    M30
    O1
    G01 X-9.00
    G01 X0
    M99

Routine 2 behaves as if there is no deceleration at the end of the G01 X-9.00 move and hence the servo drive faults. No problem with the G00 routine 1. Shouldn't G01 moves be following the same movement profile as the G00 moves in this case?

Re: Odd G01 behavior in Mach3?

Quote Originally Posted by eldata View Post
    G-Code newbie here....

With 20000 steps per inch, velocity set to 300IPM and acceleration set to 20in's/sec/sec, is there a reason why these two routines should behave differently;

; Routine 1
    G00 X0
    M98 P1 L1
    M30
    O1
    G00 X-9.00
    G00 X0
    M99

;Routine 2
    G01 X0 F300
    M98 P1 L1
    M30
    O1
    G01 X-9.00
    G01 X0
    M99

Routine 2 behaves as if there is no deceleration at the end of the G01 X-9.00 move and hence the servo drive faults. No problem with the G00 routine 1. Shouldn't G01 moves be following the same movement profile as the G00 moves in this case?

You really think your motor can move your machine 20 inches in 1 second, this is why you are getting a drive fault, this is set to high

Why are you using sub programs for just moving to a position
    Mactec54

Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    You really think your motor can move your machine 20 inches in 1 second, this is why you are getting a drive fault, this is set to high

You really think your motor can move your machine 20 inches in 1 second