509,828 active members
3,072 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > EMCO CNC machines > Emcoturn lathe user expierence
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    40

    Post Emcoturn lathe user expierence

    Hi
    I'm thinking about buying a Emco turn 240 lathe (Emcotronic T1 control) for Aluminium work.
    I don't want to retrofit the machine. I just want to start working.
    But I have no experience with the controls and I don't want to manually program gcode.

    For the CAM/CAD software I use Fusion360, works great so far.
    I also found something about editing a post processor to make it work with the emco controls.
    So that seems to be no deal breaker?

    But how do I transfer the files to the 240, and how fast does it go? I don't want to wait 30min before a program is loaded.
    Any limitations?
    I came across a video of someone transferring the files over a serial connection.
    But it seems very slow. Also does the amount of internal memory cause a problem for bigger files?

    Any advice is appreciated

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    409

    Re: Emcoturn lathe user expierence

    Are you saying you're using Fusion 360 for lathe and it's working well? Or for mill?



    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    40

    Re: Emcoturn lathe user expierence

    I already own a mill with 'modern' controls. I use Fusion360 to generate my gcode.
    But I have no experience with older machines like the Emco 240. I don't know how good it works without a retrofit (mach3/linuxcnc). And if it's a workable solution to transfer files to the machine.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    409

    Re: Emcoturn lathe user expierence

    My question was more about the lathe side on Fusion360. I've tried at length to work with it for my lathe and consider it almost unusable.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    40

    Re: Emcoturn lathe user expierence

    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/hsm-p...84365?nobounce

    It's for a VMC-100 but some people got it working? It's not a lathe of course, but maybe are small changes enough to get it working

Similar Threads

  1. EMCOTURN 360 Lathe
    By SIHACENE in forum EMCO Lathe
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2017, 10:52 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2013, 11:26 PM
  3. Need s/w and info on EmcoTurn CNC lathe with a Fanuc OT control
    By richarddoucet in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 03:55 AM
  4. Anyone have a EMCOTURN 345-11 CNC Lathe?
    By tnik in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-2008, 12:45 AM
  5. Newbie Haas OL-1 User (CNC Lathe)
    By Jorge-D-Fuentes in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 12:57 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •