584,826 active members*
5,168 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

New Machine Design

Hello i am new to cnc world yet i started to build a machine. Here is my design in attachment in fusion 360 format .f3d . It's my first time using a cad program so please forgive me. Any suggestions will be appreciated. At drawing i could not add ballscrews. I will use 1605 ballscrew in XY axes and 8mm acme in Z. Linear Shafts will be 20mm instead of 16mm in the drawing. 2nm Nema23 Steppers will be driven by TB6600. Right now i am tapping extrusions. Wish me luck on this build.

Re: New Machine Design

Good luck, hope to see some progress pics...

Use individual TB6600 drivers instead of the 4 axis board. When one blows you can replace the single driver. If you just gotta use the multiaxis TB6600 board then use low voltage. Maybe 24 volts. Mine burnt with 36 volts and I have heard people say it is the higher voltages that cause the problems. Never had a problem with the individual drives.

It looks like a really long distance from your gantry bearings to where the Z axis is connected to the gantry. This makes for a long moment arm for the cutting forces. And supported rail bearings are weakest for forces pulling the bearing away from the rail vertically. You might want to reduce the height under the table as much as possible and gusset the gantry uprights.
    John C
    carpenterswoodworking.com

Quote Originally Posted by johncarpenter View Post
    Use individual TB6600 drivers instead of the 4 axis board. When one blows you can replace the single driver. If you just gotta use the multiaxis TB6600 board then use low voltage. Maybe 24 volts. Mine burnt with 36 volts and I have heard people say it is the higher voltages that cause the problems. Never had a problem with the individual drives.