585,977 active members*
4,670 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Probotix Nebula vs CNC Router Parts CRP4848
Page 1 of 2 12

Probotix Nebula vs CNC Router Parts CRP4848

***I think I posted my original thread into the wrong sub category. Hope this one is more appropriate for my question.

I'm ready to pull the trigger on one of these two machines, but cannot make up my mind. I hope some of you can assist me with this decision by sharing some of your experience and knowledge between these machines.

Little background, I'm a hobby carpenter and will use to machine mostly to make one off parts or .... the more likely option ... make BS parts with no real use.

I'm looking at the below (2) models with options:

$4,699 - Probotix Nebula
    $120 - Z-Touch off Puck
    $4,819 = Total

$2,595 - CNC Router Parts CRP4848
    $1,560 - Plug and Play Nema 23
    $229 - Track Kit
    $130 - Auto Z Corner
    $170 - 80mm Spindle Mount
    $4,685 = Total

I'm not including the Spindle cost in either one.
    I understand the Probotix also includes a PC, which I think I can put together for about $400 if I were to go with the CNC RP one.

I would greatly appreciate anyone's input. If there is a better option for under $6k, please let me know.

Re: Probotix Nebula vs CNC Router Parts CRP4848

I had to laugh at some things with the probotix. They claim using ACME screws is an advantage over ball screws, because it means they don't need to use a lathe... Buy a lathe guys.
    200ipm rapids is sloow.
    Round rails
    Weak gantry.

Not worth it
    7xCNC.com - CNC info for the minilathe (7x10, 7x12, 7x14, 7x16)

Might be a little bit higher than your budget, but the FLA Saturn 4x4 would worth a look.

Quote Originally Posted by Biggs427 View Post
    Might be a little bit higher than your budget, but the FLA Saturn 4x4 would worth a look.