584,817 active members*
5,140 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAD Software > Autodesk > Need Advice: my first 3D Object

Need Advice: my first 3D Object

I need to make an "jet airplane intake" so I have made a 3D rendering in AutoCAD 2013 and plan to cut a mold out of light weight material.

I have no idea how to cut this. To say I'm a NEWBIE is an overstatement of my qualifications. I haven't even received my CNC yet! Hey, I have ordered & paid for it.

I have ordered a 4 Axis router that comes with Artcam & MACH3 and I intend to buy VCarve Pro. Will any those software's work or do I need to look something else?

Re: Need Advice: my first 3D Object

It would help if you posted a screenshot of the thing you're hoping to make. The programs you mention are for reliefs and sign work, not so much for full 3D mechanical parts. But depending on the part configuration, they might work to some extent. If your new router is coming from China, the software is probably pirated, so Mach3 will be in demo mode which means it will stop working (if it works at all) after 500 lines of code. That's not a lot for a 3D part. But you can buy a license for Mach3 for $150 and get over that hurdle.

What "light material" are you planning to make this mold out of? What are you going to cast into it?
    Andrew Werby
    Website

You'll need to model the mold in AutoCAD, rather than the part. Depending on the shape, you may be able to do it in V Carve Pro.
    As Andrew said, a pic would help.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

This is a screenshot of the final product. Hope this helps.