585,741 active members*
5,401 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Alternating programs to reduce tool change
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    6

    Alternating programs to reduce tool change

    Hello,

    I'm hoping this is a simple question but I can't seem to find an answer through searches.

    I have a quantity of parts to machine with 2 independant operations requiring different tools. This requires the program to make 2 tool changes.

    I figure that if I have a second program that does the operations in reverse order then I could reduce the tool changes to 1/program and then just alternate between programs.

    I have a HAAS TM1 mill. Does anyone know if it's possible to queue up programs to run like this without having to go to the usb stick to re-load the next program each time?

    The other option would be, I guess, to make a program double-length with a stop in the middle for a part change. Is that how this is normally done instead?

    Any guidance would be very much appreciated!

    Thanks, Simon.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    526

    Re: Alternating programs to reduce tool change

    how about using sub programs?
    the main program would then call for example program 1 then stop on a M00 and on next press of start button start 2 which is the reverse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    539

    Re: Alternating programs to reduce tool change

    Post up your code and I will try to help. Lots of ways to skin this cat but lets do it the easy way first.
    Gary

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    119

    Re: Alternating programs to reduce tool change

    I think mbservice (above) has the easiest idea: use subprograms. Do something like this:

    M98 P100

    M98 P200 L2

    M98 P100

    M30

    That way you call program 100, then call program 200 twice. Really, you could leave off the last M98, since the next time you run the program, it will call O100 again. Hope that helps.
    ____________________________
    My blog: http://www.fletch1.com

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2016, 12:30 AM
  2. tool offset change through c-programs and DRO update
    By delcon in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-25-2015, 01:54 PM
  3. 7 Ways to Reduce Tool Wear
    By cncadmin in forum News Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2013, 03:25 AM
  4. Automatic Alternating 120v Switch???
    By WOTDesigns in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 08:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •