584,802 active members*
5,071 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > New Build/First Time Build - BAM CNC

New Build/First Time Build - BAM CNC

Hello everyone,

I am looking into building a CNC routing/millingmachine. I am fairly new to the idea buthave been researching a little about what to look for and other peoples “If Icould do things differently” notes. Please also note that I have not yet gotten into any calculation,yet. I am purely going off what I haveseen and researched.

THE DESIGN
    - Try to keep costs low without sacrificing toomuch quality.
    - Maintain a sturdy construction, especially forthe gantry.
    - Able to cut a variety of materials includingwood, plastic, and some aluminum.
    - Able to plug into a 120V socket.
    - Able to be upgraded if needed.
    - Replaceable parts

ELECTRONICS

Stepper Motors
    - I decided to go with NEMA 23 motors afterreviewing NEMA 23 vs. NEMA 34. NEMA 34seemed to be a little overkill and a lot more costly.
    - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/cnc-kit/4-axis-cnc-router-kit-31nm439ozin-nema-24-stepper-motor-and-driver-4-dm542t-24hs34.html
    Breakout Board
    - https://www.omc-stepperonline.com/stepper-motor-driver/5-axis-cnc-breakout-board-interface-mach3-cnc-router-kit-st-v2.htmlSpindle
    Spindle and Drive
    - I decided on a 2.2kw air cooled spindle.
    - I plan to purchase the common Chinese spindleand drive from eBay.
    Other parts
    - I was thinking that the E-Stop and limits I canfind for a good price on AutomationDirect.com

MECHANICAL PARTS

Frame
    - I plan on using 8020 extruded aluminum. I plan on searching eBay for this portion. I also plan on having some 0.5” thickaluminum for additional custom parts.
    Linear Motion
    - Was looking into ball screws for the antibacklash and the precision.