502,520 active members
7,119 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2

    4-axis cutter with turntable

    Hello,

    We have built a 4-axis (stepping motor driven)Hot wire cutting
    machine. We allready have software to convert contours in NC
    code and cutting works fine.

    Now we are introducing a turntable to cut assymmetric 3D
    shapes and ruled surfaces but i'm looking for a way to extract 2D contours from a 3D model drawing file.

    By sending a new 2D contour everytime the table turns and performing a new cut. It's my final work in studying industrial engineering. does anybody have a clue?

    Thanks

    The attached file shows a representation of our machine
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cutter.jpg  

  2. #2
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    Could you align the part axis with the turntable axis, then create a vertical cutting plane (perpendicular to the wire) to slice the model and then create profile information along the slice? Rotate the part around the part/turntable axis a bit, and the recut, etc. I don't know how you would automate this in software, but that would be the mechanical aspect to it.

    BTW, I would call your machine a 2 axis + a third axis if you add the turntable. Master and slave count as 1 axis
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    927
    Huff..
    Hmmm.. Taking bach's word, I believe that machine has independent axes at each end of the wire. This would then be the four axes. Maybe the mechanism for allowing wire to lengthen and keeping the wire taut isn't represented.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2
    Yes it is a 4 axis independant controlled machine.
    We are still working on the wire length system.

    first we used the DCAMCUT software application to cut 4-axis
    workpieces, but there seems to be something wrong with the
    postprocessing because the NC code for the U-V axis
    was wrong. So in the meantime this would be the only solution
    to go 3D .

    Unless the pro's on this site can help me out.

    thanx for the replies allthough.

  5. #5
    Moderator HuFlungDung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    4826
    Ah, I see about the 4 axis. I was imagining a fixed length wire

    Sometimes too many degrees of freedom just creates a clutter of too many ways to do the same thing.
    First you get good, then you get fast. Then grouchiness sets in.

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1147
    I have no usefull advice, but i am very curious how you will solve your problem..

    Is the software your using custom? Control Sw?


    Thanks...
    Design & Development
    My Portfolio: www.robertguyser.com | CAD Blog I Contribute to: http://www.jeffcad.info

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    67
    Wow, I'm building one almost exactly like that ...
    The frame and controller are done, now working on the motor - belt drives
    I've been modeling mine after this unit
    http://www.croma-foamcutter.com/uk/F...tGDprocess.htm
    The link will give you an animated process of the machine cutting.

    I'd be interested in what software you find
    The closest I've come to is Indexer lpt as a possibilty, but until I get the machine running I won't be able to try out the software demos

    I'll try by this weekend to post some pics of what I've built.
    The two X axis (left to right) are independent and so are the two Y axis (up and down)
    I also have the turntable and a lathe table ready to be mounted ... first I need to get the basic machine moving.
    I think I've solved the hot wire tension problem by using a constant tension spring assembly pulling 6 lbs.

    Machine dimensions: X axis (left to right) 5' .. Y axis (up and down) 4' .. distance (between the two Y axis - cutting width) 2'

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1147
    MAX! Where are those pics?

    Curious to see what you do.


    What are you going to use it for? I want one, cuz i like the idea of making something a little less heavyduty than my planned router. it can be much cheaper and use the stuff I allready have now, like 1" aluminum square tube, and lots of NEMA23 100oz/in Steppers I jsut keep looking at an not using for anything... I wish i knew a convenient way to get some nitinol here in chicago... hate ordering stuff that costs the same as the shipping charge...
    Design & Development
    My Portfolio: www.robertguyser.com | CAD Blog I Contribute to: http://www.jeffcad.info

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    125
    "nitinol" is "muscle wire" I believe - you're looking for "nichrome" wire which is frequently sold as picture-hanging wire. Any department store will sell this, although as it's braided it might not work as well as single-stranded stuff.

    ...it does work well for pyrotechnic igniters though

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1147
    oh yes - good point - typo. braided nicrhome? whats it for? i need 1 thicker guage strand. I would ideally get a few guages to see what the different properties are. heres an image of my prelim design. it uses aluminum window C channel for the ways.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails foam cutter.jpg  
    Design & Development
    My Portfolio: www.robertguyser.com | CAD Blog I Contribute to: http://www.jeffcad.info

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5

    Re: 4-axis cutter with turntable

    Quote Originally Posted by bach View Post
    Hello,

    We have built a 4-axis (stepping motor driven)Hot wire cutting
    machine. We allready have software to convert contours in NC
    code and cutting works fine.

    Now we are introducing a turntable to cut assymmetric 3D
    shapes and ruled surfaces but i'm looking for a way to extract 2D contours from a 3D model drawing file.

    By sending a new 2D contour everytime the table turns and performing a new cut. It's my final work in studying industrial engineering. does anybody have a clue?

    Thanks

    The attached file shows a representation of our machine

    Hello, friend.
    You can share your DCAM cut.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    94

    Re: 4-axis cutter with turntable

    I just finished mine.

    I will add the turntable soon

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20170513_185320.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	84.2 KB 
ID:	362096

    https://youtu.be/AKgKzSsWntw

Similar Threads

  1. Any CAM Software for Howire 2 Axis & Turntable?
    By Arbiter in forum Foam Cutting Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2019, 08:42 PM
  2. HS1 how to remove the 4th Axis turntable?
    By evotechcorp in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2012, 04:01 AM
  3. HOW ADD TURNTABLE TO MY 4 AXIS MACHINE?
    By pedroenrique in forum DeskCNC Controller Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2009, 10:06 PM
  4. turntable for welding
    By DanOSB in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 03:18 AM
  5. help with turntable
    By tallwelder in forum Welding Brazing Soldering Sealing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-19-2006, 08:12 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •