585,932 active members*
3,465 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking > MetalWork Discussion > deep drilling small holes in aluminum

deep drilling small holes in aluminum

I'm new to machining and am running into trouble. I have 70 .076 diameter holes per part in close packing (.025 walls) going down 1 and 1.25 inches in 6061-t6. I'm breaking drills after about 5 holes. Currently running around 4K rpm using a peck cycle with .075 pecks at 8 ipm. I'm rapiding fully out of the hole and returning .02 short of my last depth for continuing with the next peck. I'm using flood coolany on a Fadal. I was using new parabolic drill bits I got from mcmaster. Didn't see any markings on them. Can anyone recommend feeds, speeds, peck sizes, coolants or drill bits to use. Thanks for the help.

Dave

a peck should be 1/2 of the drill dia max

your speed and feed sound ok

Quote Originally Posted by dertsap View Post
    a peck should be 1/2 of the drill dia max

your speed and feed sound ok
    Yeah what dertsap said, may be make the return after the peck about .05 i usually make mine .1 just cause that is were i am confortable and you could go a bit faster on the rpm but it will work just fine were it is.
    individual who perceives a solution and is willing to take command. Very often, that individual is crazy.

I agree with the others. The peck is too much for that drill. Most of the parts I do have small holes, although not nearly as deep as what you're running. I would run 6000rpm and 10ipm with a peck of .030".

http://evlgt85.com/gallery/MC_Machine_Samples/sample6

Spot the holes first with a short center drill.

As a general rule of thumb, peck drilling should be used when the drill depth exceeds 3 times the drill diameter.

The parabolic .076 drill should easily peck 1 to 2 times the drill diameter during each cycle.

It isn't necessary to rapid completely out of the hole after each peck.