585,743 active members*
4,958 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > CNC Machine Related Electronics > MicroController/DSP based Motion interface

Question MicroController/DSP based Motion interface

Hi,
    This is my first post on cnczone forums, so I hope this is the right place for it.
    I am an embedded systems designer with some closed look motion control experience. My hobby is wodworking, small projects here and there and would like to expand on it, and that's how I got here today. I have been directed here by a friend of mine who has a mechanical background.
    I would like to concentrate on designing a controller interface with the driver boards, and add some failsafe, position closed loop and manual control possibility (joystick). I have been looking online for some info to get familiar with the environment to decide the processor to use.

If anyone can direct me on how to start, it would be great. The main information I am missing is the hardware interface through the parallel port.
    Is there an industry standard? I am looking for the protocol which explains the G-code to parallel data. Is it just a parallel ASCII of the test which is described in the G-Code? The reason being, I am looking at skipping the whole parallel port, and go from G-code to motion through my planned interface. That would take a lot of variations of parallel port connections out of the equation. Then transferring G-code from any program out there would be across all platforms, and not only limited to the parallel protocol.
    I hope my understanding of the whole system is accurate. Feel free to correct it, or add any ideas you can think of. I will first be preparing a MATLAB/SIMULINK model of all my PID and communication controls of the system to get a feel for it before dumping time and money on the physical components.

So here's the story; Can anyone help?

Thanks

Haz-