585,748 active members*
3,833 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines > Precision Matthews PM-940M (and it begins)
Page 1 of 3 123

Precision Matthews PM-940M (and it begins)

I recently bought a 940M from Precision Matthews (with hardened ways), so far I am impressed. I will be converting it with the help and advice from a friend who knows far more than I.

I have been a conventional machinist type for 35-40yrs, but a hobbyist for the last 25yrs since I work outside the trade now.

Anyway, running the 940M thru the travels while cleaning the shipping grease and grime I found the travels to be different than actually advertised.......it was a pleasant surprise.

I am getting X= 33-1/4, Y 15, and Z 21-1/4, with 5.250 on the quill. Granted these are extreme numbers but X= at 32 Y at 14 and Z at 21 are safe everyday numbers, and far more than I will probably use.

I have a HF ZAY7032G that I have been using for the last 15yrs (and 2 (X) longitudinal travel nuts later) and I modified it to get 10" on the Y axis but the 17 on the Z was just to small hence the 940M purchase to convert.

Just wanted to chime in for those looking for a nice machine, you might want to check them out.

I will post a pic now and then as I go thru this if anyone is interested.

Before anyone asks, I made the base for the stand to sit on, it weighs 500lbs+ and the factory stand is about 300lbs, with the machine its about 1800lbs.

I don't like to hunch over when I work and don't do real large pieces, plus I want to use servos with possibly some fast rapids and don't want the inertia moving the machine, and the base just seemed a bit narrow.

I will be building an enclosure also.

Stu

Re: Precision Matthews PM-940M (and it begins)

Amazing job with the base! Are you gonna stand on the base as well while operating the machine?

I received my PM940 a couple days ago too..guess they come from the same batch.