585,708 active members*
3,759 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question VF-9 Gearbox Pump Problem

To all,
    I have appx. 15 - 20 Haas machines in production. I have learned many machine repairs from everyone out there by using this site. I am new to the communication end of the forums, so please bare with me. OK, I have a '96 VF-9, started a week ago with a "Low Pressure Trans Oil" alarm (# 179). First Step- Changed the Pressure switch. I started the machine and noticed that there is no oil movement in the cooling lines. I drained the oil out of the gearbox and flushed thru each line to be sure that nothing was plugged up. Re-filled with DTE-25 oil. No change. Second Step - Changed the Pump Assy (# 93-3260B). Restarted the machine again and noticed that the oil is now fluctuating up and down in the "pick up" tube to the pump. I then primed the pump and it will pump for appx. a minute or so and then fluctuates again. I called HFO and they don't have any resolution for the problem. I feel it may be a bad pump unit. Not quite sure how to confirm. Does anyone know of any filter screens, inside the gearbox, on the pick-up tube? How is the tube mounted inside the gearbox? I really don't want to pull the spindle assy., if someone has seen these symptoms before, and can give me some insight. I am open to all suggestions. Thanks in advance. Joe

there is no screen inside the gearbox there is a screen if the machine has a trans cooler. if the pump is losing prime it could be that you have a loose hose allowing air into the system. if you replaced a magnetic old style pump with the newer style pump then you need to have a loop in the output line of the pump or it will lose prime when you shut it off. make sure the coupling on the gear pump to the motor is not loose. the pump somes off pretty easily and you can see the cheasy coupling that they have in it

Haasfixer,