585,685 active members*
4,407 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > Trying to cut o-ring grooves using a subprogram.
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    24

    Re: Trying to cut o-ring grooves using a subprogram.

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    the main risks are when it is not canceled before an absolute move
    Yup, been there done that! E-Stop has been my best friend!!



    Quote Originally Posted by DruMor View Post
    I cut o-ring grooves in some parts just yesterday. I use a macro routine to ramp in to depth. For what you are doing, how I would program it would be something like this:

    #1=0.(Starting depth)
    #2=.17(Z cut per lap)
    #3=-1.38(Final depth)
    while[#1gt#3]do1
    #1=[#1-#2]
    if[#1le#3]then #1=#3

    g2x-10.32i10.32z#1f125.
    end1
    Are these macros HAAS specific? I would love to have access to these conditional functions in our DMG... (while loop, if/then statements, etc.) We already have a lot of programs in our old machine written where the variables (#1, #2...) are specified on the first few lines, and it automatically calculates how to cut the part. For example I have a program to cut soft-jaws, where we simply specify width, length, and depth at the beginning of the program and it cuts whatever size soft jaw I needed. But there are some limitations currently the way I wrote them, for example depth must be divisible by 0.05 (otherwise depth of the two holes will be slightly off). When we move them I may rewrite them to be more efficient!



    Wallace

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    713

    Re: Trying to cut o-ring grooves using a subprogram.

    Quote Originally Posted by extanker59 View Post
    matt@RFR is right too about the complexity but I'm not a fan of going home after each groove. It would simplify everything though.
    I don't know if it's a setting or a control generation deal or what, but my 2007 VF-2ss ignores redundant tool changes. It's really convenient. My new Brother does NOT ignore duplicate tool changes so I had to change my sub program structure, but it's still not a huge deal.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9

    Re: Trying to cut o-ring grooves using a subprogram.

    No cutter comp used, center of the O-ring is the center of the cutter path.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    15362

    Re: Trying to cut o-ring grooves using a subprogram.

    Quote Originally Posted by Geo55 View Post
    No cutter comp used, center of the O-ring is the center of the cutter path.

    You should not need cutter comp, also when you cut Oring groves, you should use a regular endmill 3 to 5 flute, a ball endmill should not be used for Oring Groves
    Mactec54

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Specifying V-Grooves
    By elfrench in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-10-2013, 09:45 AM
  2. V Grooves!
    By granth3 in forum CNC Tooling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 10:19 PM
  3. What are Z grooves?
    By rezcar in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 08:13 AM
  4. Oil Grooves
    By gmilosevic in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 12:03 PM
  5. Grooves MCX
    By jorgehrr in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2007, 09:58 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •