584,837 active members*
5,188 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog > Can Kflop take encoder axis feedback with closed loop servos?

Can Kflop take encoder axis feedback with closed loop servos?

Hi I'm a newbie to this, but looking to purchase soon and learn as I install. Kflop seems like a good option to me.

I understand kflop can take encoder feedback from a digital scale on the load, as is on my DRO currently, but can this be used successfully in conjunction with servo drives that already have their own feedback?

I understand their might be 'fighting' but could you not just make the scale reading the 'master'?

I am looking to try compensate for backlash in the system beyond what I can remove mechanically.

Thanks.

Re: Can Kflop take encoder axis feedback with closed loop servos?

There is a really good video by Dr Jacob Tal on the Galil Motion site that explains the problem of having a servo encoder together with a scale, particularly where there is slight backlash on the servo axis.
    The PID loop has to be divided between the Encoder and scale.
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Hi jdprints

I understand kflop can take encoder feedback from a digital scale on the load, as is on my DRO currently, but can this be used successfully in conjunction with servo drives that already have their own feedback?
    I assume you are referring to Step/Dir Type of Servo Drives? Yes. See:
    Closed Loop Stepper

I understand their might be 'fighting' but could you not just make the scale reading the 'master'?