584,871 active members*
5,327 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Routing sheet metal

Hi Guys,
    Could someone please help me. I’m rather new to cnc, and only have worked with wood .
    I picked up what I believe is 24”x36” x .0179 zinc plated sheet metal at lowes. I wish to cut out
    A deco pattern for wall art that would be normally cut with a plasma. My questions are
    1) Can I use a 1/8” HSS 4 flute spiral end mill to cut out the sheet metal ?
    2) If yes, how much material should I remove each pass and how fast should it move?

I’m cutting with a cnc router parts pro machine with 35 steppers and a 3hp PC router .

Thanks Lou

Re: Routing sheet metal

That must be one of the hardest things to machine. The sheet metal is going to flap all over the place. You cannot hold it down without a vacuum table, and even then it would still be difficult.
    Go back to plasma.

Cheers
    Roger

If it`s only 0.4mm I think it`s just a piece of cake on a 4 flute HSS, on my experience I can even cut 1mm thick stainless steel sheet, by just using a 1/8 carbide bit single flute at feedrate 400 and plunge rate of 80 on 5 passes, sometimes 7 passes, depending on the sharpness of my installed tool bit, it gets dull in time after a couple of cuts, so in the beginning I make a CAM for 5 passes and for 7 passes, after 20 cuts I change the code for 7 passes to continue working and after a couple of cuts that`s the time I re sharpen hehe, sometimes laziness made me think further just to minimize the tool change make sure to have a sacrificial plywood to avoid accidentally scraping your CNC table and to easily clamp your holding tabs in place.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20170324_124449.jpg  

Hi KHOUJ

That fine for a little thing like you show, but OP is talking about 24" x 36"!

But I just had a great idea! Thick flat plywood or chip board, contact cement, glue the sheet metal down HARD and all over, then machine it to 2 mm deep.