585,956 active members*
4,599 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

i keep on breaking bits???

hi! i am new in the CNC industry and i have a lot of questions about it---i cant seem to find the answers, can someone please help me out. i am working on a CNC drilling/milling for the PCB industry and and i keep on breaking drills, of the hundreds of pages ive read on the web site i still cant find the recommended drilling speed and feed rate that is appropriate to this kind of application. what do you think is the right speed that i use in drilling holes in PCBs say for example a .8mm tool how fast should it run in drilling PCbs. the maximum speed in my CNC is 60000 rpm and i am using a carbide drill. thanks for all the help you can give me.

How fast are you plunging the bit, try slowing it down.

the feed rate that is set in the machine is 3200, i dont know what unit is that maybe mils per minute or what do you think? and the speed is at 60000rpm i really dont know what to do. you might have an idea on this since you work in woodworking, pcbs are not that different from wood only thing is that it is covered by a thin layer of copper---so wil have some adjustments on that part. if you drill a hole on a wood with similar density and thickness to a pcb using carbide drills what do you think is the speed and feed rate that i use. thnx

3200 ipm, or is that pulses? What control/machine are you using?

i use a bungard cnc drilling/milling machine from mega electronics

Let's take a look at the 3200... if that's mm/min, then the feed speed is about 126 in/min. If that's mils/min, then the feed speed is 3.2 in/min. I'm guessing your feed speed may be in mm/min. if it's programmed in GCode. I don't have any experience with your control, so I'm kind of shooting in the dark here.
    My name is Electric Nachos. Sorry to impose, but I am the ocean.
    http://www.bryanpryor.com