586,009 active members*
4,744 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123

Is Solid Works worth learning?

I've recently gotten my feet wet in Fusion 360 and generally like it. There are a few annoyances like the sketch jumping around and the grid lines disappearing. They are usually, though not always, visible in sketch mode, otherwise not at all. As a student, I have an opportunity to buy a one year license for Solid Works for $90.00. I'm tempted to pull the trigger.

Re: Is Solid Works worth learning?

I've used Solidworks for years, and, the last year or so, went to Fusion360. There are some things that Solidworks does better than Fusion, but Fusion is catching up fairly quickly. Overall, I'd never go back. Far and away the biggest headache with Solidworks has been stability. Fusion has been really good, with VERY few problems. Solidworks was, from day one, a struggle to keep to working well, and it is a MASSIVE resource hog - with constant warnings about being low on resources. That has never once happened with Fusion. Over time, the performance of Solidworks gets worse and worse. Oddly, by the end of any given subscription period, it always became nearly unusable, until a new subscription was purchased and installed. Coincidence? I think not. In terms of CAM, Fusion is in a whole different league than Solidworks.

Bottom line, stick with Fusion.

Regards,
    Ray L.

There are a few annoyances like the sketch jumping around and the grid lines disappearing.
    Are you sure this isn't due to an issue with your PC graphics? I haven't noticed any of these issues, but I don't really pay attention to the gridlines.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html