584,861 active members*
4,717 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Uncategorised CAM Discussion > Cutting numbers in a circle? Advice needed! Use F-Engrave? If so what settings?

Cutting numbers in a circle? Advice needed! Use F-Engrave? If so what settings?

First let me say I am a total newb with CAD/CAM. I have mainly been using my cheap Chinese engraver for drilling printed circuit boards. The software pretty much shields you from the G-Code.

What I want to do is to build a hard drive POV clock like this.

The numbers on that disk are translucent and LEDs are illuminated behind them . at the appropriate time. What this guy did is to cut those numbers out by hand. My skills with a handsaw aren't all that great and I have this engraver so why not use it?

I need advice on how to cut these numbers. One thought I had was to paint a piece of plexiglass black then etch though the paint with the engraver. First I need to know if that will work.

If so my next need is to know exactly how to do this. I was going to use F-Engrave but don't know where to go from there. Should I use V-carve or Engrave? What bit should I use?

Playing with f-engrave in the past, I swear I was able to outline the characters but I can't seem to get that to work. Perhaps I am thinking of the Linux CNC example? Anyway if I could outline the characters, one thought there would be to route the outlines then scrape off the paint by hand.

That way I can use the bits I have on hand. I don't have much in the way of bits right now but open to buying more. I have a .25 inch flat bit and some of those small engrraving bits. The ones I am looking at now are 0.8 mm 30 degree. The 0.8mm is the width of the tip of th ebit.

Any suggestions?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC00014+%u002525282%u00252529.JPG  

Re: Cutting numbers in a circle? Advice needed! Use F-Engrave? If so what settings

Very easy with V-Varve to put text onto an arc or circle...