585,733 active members*
4,817 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Cutter comp on TL1

I am an experienced programmer but my experience is with a Hardinge Conquest lathe and Fanuc controller. I am having trouble getting the Cutter comp to work as I think it should. I have made so many changes I am not sure what did what but The diameters are coming out wrong, if they are right then the shoulders are wrong,

I want to face to the center line of the part using G41 which programming X to zero I should see a -X value of 2times the Tool nose radius. Then I want to switch to G42 and travel back up the face and chamfer the Od then travel the od to a shoulder, up the shoulder and then off the part, G40 and home.

My experience has been with the lathe tool in the back side of the part so I am questioning my thinking on the G41 or G42 and also the quadrant number I should pick. I have gotten so many different values I am beginning to think maybe the parameters are set wrong in my machine. Is it possible that the Z axis is set for a lathe designed to have the tool in the rear and the X axis set for a front tool ? I have never been able to get both the faces and Od comps to both be correct?

Mike

Re: Cutter comp on TL1

The TL machines are back to front really. You have to think that the tool is coming from the back as it would on a traditional slant bed cnc lathe. Just use G42 for external and G41 for internal as you would normally.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Cutter comp on TL1