Hello, I am really new to this but I re built a CNC and I have a few questions that I see crop up on the internet but never any answers. So I hooked up all the gear and have smooth motion, I used the given pins 10 for x,11for y,12 for z,10 slaved to x , 13 for the touchplate probe,15 for the Estop that I am limited to in order to connect to input 1(x),2(y),3(z), and 4(a-slaved to x ). Then I checked the three limit switches and they all function in Mach diagnostics when I trip them. I added 2 more limits in parallel to catch the opposite end of the table. So at this point, I was thinking that if the machine was asked to Ref all home it would gently touch the limit switches and stop but no dice, it goes right through them.

Now if I manually go to the stops, it will trigger the emergency stop, which is great and I assumed that no matter what, if those were touched it would stop the machine from continuing but clearly not.
My questions are:

1- I thought that Leadshines driver would be stopped no matter what if a limit switch is tripped, is there a way to achieve this ? Do people add hard limit switches into the E stop switch to make 100% sure it won't continue to run past the limit switches. I was told somewhere that is something you want to achieve so if the software glitches it will stop the drives at the drive controller so a data link interruption or glitch cannot accidentally allow the motors to crash.

2- what is the safest way to configure the port, pins for what I have ? Should I check the enable for limit x+ x- and home or ?

3- I want to use softlimits so for the softlimits - is there ever a negative number to size the table area. I inputed 50" x 50" and then my x axis started travelling the wrong way on the joystick once I left the soft limit screen. I had checked the home negative box at this point. Once I unchecked that and ran a negative number, it ran the correct direction.