585,556 active members*
3,333 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Oxygen generator

Hello gentlemen, I am a student whose current capstone project involves a case study for determining the feasibility of on site oxygen production for CNC laser cutting. The demand in this case is specified @ 5 meters cubed per hour.
    So far I have most of what I require for a viable solution but have gotten stuck on a certain data point that I cannot find enough evidence to rectify yet.

It seems that the industry standard for o2 laser cutting gas is rated at ~99.5% or greater in order to provide good, clean, and fast cuts. However many of the on site oxygen generator solutions out there are capped at about 95% purity with the exception of medical grade equipment.

What I would like to know is how much difference does that 4.5% disparity make between cutting solutions? Will 95% o2 purity be unusable in a competitive industry environment? I am trying to find data tables to back up the question but so far have only found this single chart. Does anyone know of better data tables that would help? Tables that might explore down to the 90% range or so?

Edit: link didnt work, here is the table.

Thank you for your time everyone.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails fig9.png  

Re: Oxygen generator

it's not just cutting speed that's a problem. Edge quality will drop off too. Piercing will be less effective and increase the chance of spatter fouling the nozzle and lens. I have operated mild steel O2 cutting where there has been accidental contamination of the O2 due to a faulty solenoid valve in another machine on the same O2 circuit. The contamination occurred elsewhere in the factory, and the air managed to work it's way back towards the O2 source and mess up my cut. I have no idea what % contamination this would work out to be but given the circumstances I expect it would have been only a small amount.