585,885 active members*
6,203 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Tweakie-based 5-axis plans

Hi!

I am a industrial designer in need of a CNC machine. I have looked around for machines to buy but decided to build one myself. It seems feasible given the vast amount of resources available to do so nowadays. And also fun! I have operated several 3-axis CNC machines in the past and have assembled a Shapeoko for a friend but still consider myself a novice in the area, that is why I decided to post here. I want to share with you the results of my research and hopefully get some feedback on how to proceed.

Machine requirements:

• It will mostly carve 3D shapes, occasionally 2D shapes.
    • 5-Axis: It will have to mill undercuts on parts sized 150x150x70mm approx.
    • 3-Axis cutting volume: 450x450x200mm approx.
    • It is meant for fine detail work so it must be very precise with an emphasis on high quality surface finish. Repeatability precision must be at least 0,01mm, hopefully better.
    • I mostly want the machine to mill PU foams(like Prolab65, or this), plastics like Nylon, ABS or Acetal and hardwoods.
    • Minimum tool size: 0,2 mm
    • Small budget of course

My thoughts so far on how to solve this are:
    • In order to achieve these requirements I think the best alternative would be to base the design on the Tweakie CNC and customize it so an AB platform can sit on the machine table. Looking around this one seems like a good candidate. Has any of you tried a platform like that? The platform will have to be removed for larger 3-Axis milling, of course. I can have the frame built locally by a professional metal shop for a decent price.
    • I made a quick schematic model for the machine in Inventor. I used the measurements provided by the seller for modeling the AB platform: