585,981 active members*
4,156 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Diving head first

Hi everyone Im new to this board and just as new to CNC machineing. I am quite interested and Im amazed one can be built by a hobbiest! This being said Ive decided I want to dive in head first and try and build one. I know my way around a few tools, I build boats and I just rebuilt a car. I was wondering if there are any step by step books I could read? Im not up on all the technological terms so maybe a "CNC building for dummies" book? lol. Im looking to build a CNC mill capable of milling aluminum regularily also it must be able to mill a piece of aluminum about a 30" {wide} by 40" {length} by 25" {tall} block of aluminum. Can this be done? How much would it cost roughly? Im toying with this idea right now and Id really like to do it if money allows. By the way I have some experience with manual mills. I realise this is a big undertaking but itll be fun and I have time to spend on it.

Thanks Steve

Hey Steve welcome to the Zone!!!

Not too sure about a book for learning to make a machine, but everything you need is somewhere on this forum... that might not sound too helpful but my tip would be to read read read.

If you have milling experience you will know that you need a rairly rigid machine, the more rigid the better if you intend to cut aluminium, you COULD take smaller cuts but it sounds like you want to chew on a fairly good size chunk of stock.

There are free plans on this site to build look for Joe's 2006 machine or JGRO's machine, though I don't think they will suit your needs for cutting large pieces of aluminium, but might be a good "first" machine.

Be careful, these things get REALLY addictive.

Good luck

Russell.