585,712 active members*
3,929 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

what cnc control system should i use

HI I'M NEW TO CNC,
    I WILL BE BUYING A BL20 MILL AND CONVERTING IT OVER AND WILL BE RUNNING CLOSED LOOP STEPPERS,

Nema34 HSS86 Hybrid Driver Servo Stepper Motor 4.5N.m OR 8 M.N

BUT JUST CANT DECIDE ON THE CONTROL SYSTEM THIS IS WHAT I'M LOOKING AT

4 Axis CNC Motion Controller DDCSV1.1 500KHz Stepper Motor Driver + Handwheel AU

Centroid Acorn CNC control kit w/ CNC software, Mach3/4 Mill Lathe upgrade kit

4 Axis Mach3 USB 2MHz CNC Breakout Board Motion Control Card

MACH3 Ethernet Ethernet Motion Control Card Mach3 controller

I USE FUSION 360 AND ASPIRE VERTIC FOR CAD AND HAVE PLAYED WITH MACH3 A LITTLE

CAN SOMEONE STEER ME IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION

Re: what cnc control system should i use

I wouldn't use any chinese motion controller.
    So that leaves you with the Acorn.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

what else can i use

If you want to use Mach3, there are a variety of controllers.
    ESS from Warp 9.
    UC series from CNC Drive.
    KFlop
    CS Labs
    Vital Systems.

And alternatives to Mach3 are:

LinuxCNC
    UCCNC
    Planet CNC
    Eding CNC
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

My vote would be for LinuxCNC. Its free.
    Rod Webster
    www.vehiclemods.net.au