512,286 active members
2,618 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 3 of 4 1234
Results 25 to 36 of 39
  1. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1786

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    I would have them send you a usb stick with path pilot 2.0 install instructions. I have one that I purchased a few months ago to upgrade my recently replaced pp box. Might be handy of you have computer problems I guess. The directions or documentation for that also explains in good detail how to backup your controller settings. Could come in handy in future. I did this last week and when my new unit arrived Monday I had it up and running in a few minutes. Ran the 2,02 update, restored the backup I made of all my settings. Works great, now looking forward to a touch screen upgrade and also finish my network hardwire connections so I can get rid of the tennis shoe network I have been using.

  2. #26
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob La Londe View Post
    This is a brand new machine out of he crate. Nothing should be defective.

    Not sure how I would restore the partition as it didn't seem to come with the restore disc its says it does in the documentation. Then the computer doesn't have a drive to put the restore diskinto either.
    Infant mortality is not uncommon in electronics. Mine worked initially and is 3mths old. No restore disk, no drive. Left shift on reboot, restore factory default. Worked for me, but if that didn't work, I expect they would replace hardware.

  3. #27
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1938

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnKDM View Post
    Infant mortality is not uncommon in electronics. Mine worked initially and is 3mths old. No restore disk, no drive. Left shift on reboot, restore factory default. Worked for me, but if that didn't work, I expect they would replace hardware.
    You know I hear that from time to time, but I spent nearly 30 years employed as a communications technician. 23 of those as the business owner and contractor's license holder and I just didn't see the failure rate to make that a completely accurate statement. I would occasionally see a batch of crap (Chinese power supply capacitors on computers a decade or so back for example) or a ****ty manufacturer, but across the spectrum of components I saw very little infant mortality. I installed and service a broad spectrum of equipment, ran tens (probably hundreds) of thousands of miles of wire, and networked, integrated, and interconnected a wide array of computing and simpler devices. Phone, network, access control, alarm, video, commercial and professional sound, etc. I'm not an electronics tech. I know the basics, and did some minor board level repairs, but if I had seen not uncommon component failures I'd have gone totally bonkers.

    Its like when somebody tells me computer boards come loose all the time. Um, no. Not in my experience. Sure there were a batch of ****ty cases that weren't spaced right being sold to DIY builders in the mid 90s. The same cases that were stamped out of sheet with razor sharp edges not deburred. We nicknamed those sushi cases because they would turn your hands into chopped sushi if you weren't careful. When we had to build computers with those cases we bent the tabs so the cards would still seat properly, but by and large most name brand and off name brand computers shipped today DO NOT "arrive all the time with loose cards." Even computers from reputable rebuilders and remanufacturers just don't have those issues. Certainly its not "common." I've seen a few, but you have to remember that I've handled thousands and thousands of computers over the years. I've got several shelving units in my storage unit full of old computers just from my personal and business use I haven't gotten around to data wiping yet before recycling. Honestly, most "loose cards" I've seen were installed by third parties that were not who I would consider professionals. The closest thing we saw to "loose cards" that was not uncommon was the oxidation and conductivity issue with tin plated memory.

    Regardless I'm still annoyed my system arrived not working, and I'm still annoyed Tormach sent me a message indicating they were over nighting a replacement and then shipped ground anyway.
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  4. #28
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob La Londe View Post
    You know I hear that from time to time, but I spent nearly 30 years employed as a communications technician. 23 of those as the business owner and contractor's license holder and I just didn't see the failure rate to make that a completely accurate statement. I would occasionally see a batch of crap (Chinese power supply capacitors on computers a decade or so back for example) or a ****ty manufacturer, but across the spectrum of components I saw very little infant mortality. I installed and service a broad spectrum of equipment, ran tens (probably hundreds) of thousands of miles of wire, and networked, integrated, and interconnected a wide array of computing and simpler devices. Phone, network, access control, alarm, video, commercial and professional sound, etc. I'm not an electronics tech. I know the basics, and did some minor board level repairs, but if I had seen not uncommon component failures I'd have gone totally bonkers.

    Its like when somebody tells me computer boards come loose all the time. Um, no. Not in my experience. Sure there were a batch of ****ty cases that weren't spaced right being sold to DIY builders in the mid 90s. The same cases that were stamped out of sheet with razor sharp edges not deburred. We nicknamed those sushi cases because they would turn your hands into chopped sushi if you weren't careful. When we had to build computers with those cases we bent the tabs so the cards would still seat properly, but by and large most name brand and off name brand computers shipped today DO NOT "arrive all the time with loose cards." Even computers from reputable rebuilders and remanufacturers just don't have those issues. Certainly its not "common." I've seen a few, but you have to remember that I've handled thousands and thousands of computers over the years. I've got several shelving units in my storage unit full of old computers just from my personal and business use I haven't gotten around to data wiping yet before recycling. Honestly, most "loose cards" I've seen were installed by third parties that were not who I would consider professionals. The closest thing we saw to "loose cards" that was not uncommon was the oxidation and conductivity issue with tin plated memory.

    Regardless I'm still annoyed my system arrived not working, and I'm still annoyed Tormach sent me a message indicating they were over nighting a replacement and then shipped ground anyway.
    Spent 27yrs as an engineer, electronic and controls. One motor company I worked for had large cooled run-in rooms for their better product line to ensure against infant mortality. Since a lot of that product was military/aerospace, it was priced accordingly. The cheaper stuff that wasn't tested to that degree was "run-in" by the customer and was quickly replaced under warranty if it failed. BLDC motor electronics especially.

    At any rate, I'm sure they will sort it out and make things right.

  5. #29
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1938

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnKDM View Post
    Spent 27yrs as an engineer, electronic and controls. One motor company I worked for had large cooled run-in rooms for their better product line to ensure against infant mortality. Since a lot of that product was military/aerospace, it was priced accordingly. The cheaper stuff that wasn't tested to that degree was "run-in" by the customer and was quickly replaced under warranty if it failed. BLDC motor electronics especially.

    At any rate, I'm sure they will sort it out and make things right. <EVENTUALLY>

    Used to be a people thought a good company was one that produced a very low percentage of product that didn't meet spec or failed. Now people think a good company is one that makes it right because they all produce a larger percentage of non-spec of failures now. (Actually there are still companies that produce a very low percentage of non-spec products.)
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  6. #30
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1938

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    I have to make a correction. Closer to 40 than 30 years. I started installing satellite systems and phone systems when I was still in high school. Didn't even have a driver's license yet. Over 30 years as a full time professional. That's if you don't even count my phone system business I had before the local phone company hired me. Time flies when you're having fun.
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  7. #31
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1786

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Personally, I would have stated in my first post that I have 40 years of experience with computers and this product and I checked the following problems........ with no solution.
    Not waste other peoples valuable time when they are trying to just help you with your problem. When as you stated above "Its like when somebody tells me computer boards come loose all the time. Um, no. Not in my experience." And you have 40 years of experience. Now that I know your experience level I would think you would be answering these questions not asking them Hope to see you helping others solve their cnc problems around here.

  8. #32
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1938

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    MountainDew, Does it work to challenge somebody to stay and help? Like the used car salesman that takes a parting shot at the mark walking away because he doesn't have anything to lose anyway. I'm afraid my first reaction to that sort of thing is to make sure anybody in ear shot knows that salesman has a problem. Then walk away. I don't think you really meant it that way, but its hard to tell from the tone of your typing. LOL.

    I've found the Tormach forums here on CNC Zone to be markedly hostile to anything not "Yeah! All hail Tormach!" in the past. I've been reading this forum including the Tormach forums for years. I am actually quite surprised I didn't get more negative feedback from posting about my immediate problems from initial unboxing, and then about Tormach misinforming me about shipping. It seems this group has matured a bit since I first started reading it many years ago.

    Wasting your time? I know a bit about computers and a bit about Tormach, but I've never run PathPilot and only played with LinuxCNC for a short time some years ago. I've only been playing with CNC machines for about 12 years. I appreciate most of your responses that are on the topic although other users actually provided more useful information.

    ANNOUNCE PROUDLY TO THE WORLD. "I have a ton of experience with and I know a lot. Please help me." LOL. Really. You would have started a minor help request that way? That's hysterical. Ok, if it works for you.

    Seriously though when it comes to professionally installing electronic components as part of a system we quickly stopped using any lines, models, or manufacturers who often release bad products. As a result I didn't see a lot of infant mortality. The time and labor to replace a bad component often out prices the cost of the component by an order of magnitude or two. Want a good example. Add a motion sensor to an alarm system and it costs $60-$100 for a $15-20 part. Replace that same motion senor because it failed due to infant mortality and it costs $200 or more when you add in travel time, time on site, stocking costs, and delays on other jobs because you aren't there. Substitute phone, camera, card reader, speaker, transmitter, or any other component and the numbers are different, but the math is the same. I've had a machine spread out taking up space and getting in the way in my machine room all week. I spent a good part of the weekend monkeying with a plug and play component and it delayed further work and assembly on the machine. Hmmm... should I blame the Mesa card or the PC or Tormach QC? Either way the math is the same.

    I think that often CNC machine companies treat customers like end retail consumers. They can get away with a higher failure rate, but I'm not the typical average end retail consumer. If I report an issue I know there are other people who didn't. If two people report an issue I have to assume there a lot more who didn't. Even in this thread there are indications of similar problems with the few people who responded. Mine just happened to not be solvable with the "common" solutions. Something is bad.

    I've made a business out of hobby machines. I started making parts with a Taig. Anybody who has a lot of hours with one and isn't a Taig fanboy knows they have their issues. I had hoped the Tormach would be ten times better experience to setup since its ten times the price. So far it appears better but any impartial observer has to admit an initial failure has to be a bit off putting.

    Anyway, I'll stick around by my choosing, not because some used car salesman took a parting insult at me as I was walking away. LOL. I may help if I see something where I can and I may not. If you choose to be helpful in the future, Thank You. If not that's ok. I won't hold it against you.
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  9. #33
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1786

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    wow
    Simple we all read these forums. I try to use this a venue to learn new methods and how to adapt and over come problems. To be honest I didn't think I should post an answer because I understood well in advance your response would be like above. And I will be very surprise the day you post one single thing to help someone.

    I only did it to help others that read these threads that actually need or want help, not just complain about something so stupid as infant mortality rate of a mesa card! Not even a product Tormach makes they only sell with their system. I could care less now what problems you have. I will grab my bag of donuts and set on sidelines with joey and watch you complain about everything and not help one single person on this site yet alone take or use any advice .

    You can only be one of 3 things in life! part of the solution! part of the problem! or part of the landscape!

    proof will be in your posts. will you complain or help!

  10. #34
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    467

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Did someone mention doughnuts? Still live from downtown Burbank home of the world famous Cup-O- Joe.
    JoeyB
    A doughnut a day keeps the doctor away.

  11. #35
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1938

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    Quote Originally Posted by mountaindew View Post
    wow
    Simple we all read these forums. I try to use this a venue to learn new methods and how to adapt and over come problems. To be honest I didn't think I should post an answer because I understood well in advance your response would be like above. And I will be very surprise the day you post one single thing to help someone.!
    Ok, so you really did mean it that way. I gave you the benefit if the doubt, but a "second" "last shot" is rare even for a used car salesman. Yeah Wow!

    I wasn't arguing about infant mortality of a Mesa Card. Its quite clear it has some out of the gate if not out of the box failures. ie Infant mortality. Pretty hard to argue about facts. I was disputing the statement and inference that infant mortality is and should be expected and accepted as common place among products at large.

    I actually do help people on lots of forums, but I am less and less inclined to offer any help on this one. Primarily because of you personally.

    FYI: I've spent most of my professional life solving problems. Often solving problems other companies techs couldn't fix or didn't want to fix.
    Bob La Londe
    http://www.YumaBassMan.com

  12. #36
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5

    Re: No Ethernet Connection Detected

    During my first computer science classes at university, I was mesmerized by the high speed punch cards, but was less impressed to have to go into the basement and stand in line to retrieve a printout (they only had one printer in the building). LOL

    As I indicated above, sure there are companies that produce (near) perfect products - but they don't sell at Tormach prices.

Page 3 of 4 1234

Similar Threads

  1. Ethernet connection
    By Suffolk miller in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2014, 02:15 AM
  2. ethernet connection
    By brentpinfold in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-19-2013, 12:36 AM
  3. ethernet connection
    By cwcw in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 04:12 PM
  4. Ethernet connection
    By edufer1 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2008, 03:15 PM
  5. Fanuc OM ethernet connection
    By Porknar in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2006, 03:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •