585,556 active members*
3,586 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Chinese 6040 stepper needs replacement and how far can I go with possible mods

Lightbulb Chinese 6040 stepper needs replacement and how far can I go with possible mods

Purchased a 6040z Chinese CNC in 2016 to teach myself the ropes of baisc CNC craft. Two years later, I feel much more confident and skilled but the learning experience took its toll on Y stepper with the Z starting to follow. I could go with the same size but was wondering if I could stretch its legs a bit and go slightly more powerful steppers without having to perform significant upgrades to the controller.

Below are the specs for what I currently have and what I would like to replace. However, I'm still a newbie when talking parts so I would like some guidance. I am willing to gut the controller if needed but hoping to keep the repair costs down so I can continue to learn.

Current:
    FRAME: 57BYGH76/4A1.8N.m (aka Nema23)
    LENGTH: 76 mm
    A/PHASE: 3A
    TORQUE: 1.89N.m (270 oz-in)
    LEADS: 4

Proposed:
    FRAME: Nema23
    Length: 115 mm
    A/PHASE: 3A
    TORQUE: 425 oz-in

I can provide other specs from the controller if required

Re: Chinese 6040 stepper needs replacement and how far can I go with possible mods

Stepper motors almost never fail, so I'm curious what is wrong with yours? It may not be the steppers at all.

Regarding larger motors. Without changing anything else, moving to larger motors can often reduce performance. But it's hard to say without knowing all the specs of your machine.
    Stepper motors rated torque is holding torque, when they are not spinning. As Rpm increases, torque decreases. With larger motors, the torque decreases faster. SO it's possible the smaller motors will have more torque at higher rpm than the larger ones.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html