585,585 active members*
4,164 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Hardinge Lathes > Conquest T42: How do you program a sub-spindle transfer?
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    196

    Conquest T42: How do you program a sub-spindle transfer?

    I tried the example for transferring a part from the sub-spindle to the main spindle as shown in the Hardinge Conquest T42 Programmer's on page 16-19. In this example, it uses the G10 P0 command to modify the workshift for both Z (turret) and Y (subspindle), as follows:

    G10 P0 Z-1.75
    G10 P0 Y-1.75

    After trying this, the Z workshift offset is modified, but the Y workshift offset is NOT.

    And get this... I called Hardinge and spoke with Bob Allington who himself tried this out on one of their machines and got the same result! So it's not my machine, after all.

    So, if the manual is wrong, what is the best way to transfer a part from the sub-spindle to the main spindle?

    Put another way, how do YOU do it? What have you established as the best practice for this operation? Do you use G54, G55 for main/sub? Do you program in absolute values? Can you provide an example of gcode that you actually use in production?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29

    Re: Conquest T42: How do you program a sub-spindle transfer?

    Quote Originally Posted by torinwalker View Post
    I tried the example for transferring a part from the sub-spindle to the main spindle as shown in the Hardinge Conquest T42 Programmer's on page 16-19. In this example, it uses the G10 P0 command to modify the workshift for both Z (turret) and Y (subspindle), as follows:

    G10 P0 Z-1.75
    G10 P0 Y-1.75

    After trying this, the Z workshift offset is modified, but the Y workshift offset is NOT.

    And get this... I called Hardinge and spoke with Bob Allington who himself tried this out on one of their machines and got the same result! So it's not my machine, after all.

    So, if the manual is wrong, what is the best way to transfer a part from the sub-spindle to the main spindle?

    Put another way, how do YOU do it? What have you established as the best practice for this operation? Do you use G54, G55 for main/sub? Do you program in absolute values? Can you provide an example of gcode that you actually use in production?
    You should have this as a sub program here it is for a ball screw T42 sub spindle full program below go slow to test it and have a special cut off (if bar work that will fit between both spindles)

    O9170 (SUB SPINDLE TRANSFER)
    IF[#19EQ#0]GOTO10
    IF[#19EQ1]GOTO5
    M85
    GOTO1
    N5IF[#2EQ#0]GOTO10
    IF[#24EQ#0]GOTO10
    IF[#9EQ#0]GOTO10
    N1M32
    IF[#19EQ3]GOTO2
    M56
    M46
    G4U.5
    GOTO3
    N2M21
    G4U.5
    N3M84
    IF[#19EQ3]GOTO4
    M57
    M47
    IF[#19EQ1]GOTO6
    G4U.5
    M21
    G4U.5
    GOTO7
    N4M22
    G4U.5
    M56
    G4U.5
    GOTO7
    N6G1G99X#24F#9
    G4U.2
    N7M85
    IF[#19EQ1]GOTO8
    IF[#19EQ2]GOTO10
    M35
    GOTO10
    N8G00X[#2+[#2*.16]]
    N10M99
    %

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    10

    Re: Conquest T42: How do you program a sub-spindle transfer?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1003

    Re: Conquest T42: How do you program a sub-spindle transfer?

    I realize this is an old post, but maybe it would save someone else time. I am a fan of subroutines where feasible. However, I don't use one for transferring parts on our Hardinges with Y-axis sub. The above listed O9170 (SUB SPINDLE TRANSFER) is not for a Y-axis, but for one where subspindle travel is set by a movable switch located under the subspindle. Notice the M84 & M85. No Y-axis move.

    The correct example is in the Hardinge manual. For anyone without a manual, but a Hardinge with Y-axis needing an example, let me know.

Similar Threads

  1. Program transfer
    By FlorinMBV in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2016, 09:18 PM
  2. VF-633 PROGRAM TRANSFER TO USB AND WARMUP PROGRAM
    By cncbeastmaster in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2013, 08:39 PM
  3. program transfer between CNC and PC
    By sinha_nsit in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 11:03 AM
  4. NC Transfer Program
    By JamesBond in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 12:40 AM
  5. transfer of program
    By Dar in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 03:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •