584,863 active members*
4,907 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Taig Mills / Lathes > Taig DSLS 3000 vs. Super (Sieg) X3 CNC

Taig DSLS 3000 vs. Super (Sieg) X3 CNC

Newbie here... I have checked the archives, some very experienced users! I am sure you are all tired of these by decision threads, "this vs. that" .... but any input would sure be appreciated. An ounce of prevention is always worth a pound of cure! :-)

Background.... I have not been on a mill for 30 years, but am very mechanical, do lots of woodworking and some light design work in my engineering work. Good CAD skills. I plan to use this CNC mill for small parts for a part time business....my goal is to make my own parts when the volume is low enough to save on costs. Low run, maybe 30 of a given part, which is why I prefer the mill be set up CNC right from the start...I can learn one system and use it for both manual and CNC.

I have narrowed down my choices to the above two CNC mills, however, I am open to other suggestions. I have no real budget, but would like to keep the entire start-up package (including 4th axis rotary table and assorted clamps and mills) under ~ $8k. I prefer to buy a package that is a complete system, I don't have the time or the desire to build tools, I prefer to invest my time on using them efficiently. (that will take enough time) That said, I think the BobCad / Mach 3 system is a nice combination that I would like to employ on the CNC I choose. It seems with the Mach3 interface, there is no real need to have manual controls on the axis as it seems everything can be dialed in via the keyboard....quite an evolution since I used mills long ago...... very impressive machines considering the price.

I have narrowed down to these two CNC's cause they have about the right working area...

DSLS 12" / 5.5" / 6" (XYZ)
    SSX3 15.5" / 6.9" / 9.1"

for comparison, here is the Smithy CNC622

622 9" / 5.5" / 12.2"