545,760 active members*
2,276 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Shopmaster/Shoptask > Mill Turn - Limit and home switches
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    18

    Mill Turn - Limit and home switches

    After thinking about it for a while, I decided to install limit switches on my Mill Turn machine. I found only one or two examples of limit switches installed on Shopmaster machines and nothing on the Mill Turn machine. I'm still not sure how useful limit switches will be, but I have crashed all of the movements at one time or another even though I use soft limits.

    My goals for the addition of the switches were as follows;

    1) Robust- Able to withstand long term use without being fiddley or impeding the full movement of the machine.

    2) Coolant proof- I often times use flood coolant.

    3) Switches must be out of the way of the tailstock movement or the steady rest (if installed).

    The switches are relatively cheap, Chinese made, and purchased from Ebay. They have a seal and claim to be waterproof. The double shielded 18/2 AWG wire was the most expensive component at $5 a foot and was sized to be water tight in the switch strain relief rubber grommets. Being deathly afraid of breaking a drill or tap off in a machine casting, I purchased name brand USA made drills and taps and had no problems whatsoever.

    Homing in action video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmd63skpqUg

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Mill Turn - Limit and home switches

    Greetings Goodlett

    I recently found a second hand mill / turn on craigslist and am going through the machine to check tolerances, alignment and such.
    Limit switches seem like a wise safety update.
    I'd guess your switch circuit is serial ?
    Would you mind posting diagrams of your switch circuit and possibly screen shots of the Mach 3 set up ?

    Thanks much
    Steve

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    18

    Re: Mill Turn - Limit and home switches

    Limit switches do add to the safety somewhat but they are no guarantee by any means. They are valuable in setting up work offsets too. Each pair of switches on an axis is wired in series and normally closed. In other words, when the machine hits a switch it opens the circuit. My 2017 machine is set up with inputs on the rear panel (see photo) and I used the included RCA plugs. Mach 3 setup was trial and error but not difficult. I attached a couple of photos of the setup screens.

    Hope it helps

    Glenn

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Mill Turn - Limit and home switches

    Thanks Glenn

    Another piece of the puzzle to help set this machine up.

    Steve

Similar Threads

  1. Limit and home switches - sherline lathe and mill
    By itolond in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-11-2014, 06:19 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-05-2013, 02:54 AM
  3. Machine Zero On A Mill Running Mach3 Without Limit Or Home Switches
    By xxtoni in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2013, 07:46 PM
  4. Home/limit switches for small mill
    By hdscarbro in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-13-2006, 05:08 PM
  5. The relationship of limit switches to home switches.
    By MikeAber in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 08:28 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •