585,744 active members*
4,565 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > Looking for advice on DIY CNC machine for Shoe Lasts
Page 1 of 2 12

Looking for advice on DIY CNC machine for Shoe Lasts

Hello all,

Sorry I haven't done my research in full, so please bear with my Newb status.

I am a bespoke shoemaker in Australia, and at the moment I adjust a pair of the 1000's of lasts I have to fit my client by adding leather/putty/cork etc to get the perfect fit. I've gotten pretty good at that over the years but every now and then a client comes along that doesn't fit with the base model lasts I have in stock and the adjustment process is ridiculous.

I would love to move into the current century and use my measurements to make a 3D model and produce a pair of accurate lasts via a CNC process.

I have been dabbling for a few months in Rhino trying to get my head around CAD/CAM modelling and I can tell that it is going to take me a long time to get on top of it all. So in the mean time I have created an account here to hopefully get some ideas on how to move forward.

Basically what I am hoping to do is find a cheap machine that can carve a chunk of hardwood or polyethylene plastic into a last. Like this;

Actually that is a horrible last shape but you get the idea. Also I would probably be using hardwood as its locally source-able. I am NOT mass producing. I might make a pair of lasts a week at max at the moment. I would be looking for an accuracy of at least 0.5mm.

I have a few questions, please chime in if you have any thoughts on all or any.

1. I have been looking at CNCs on eBay and Aliexpress for something that I can get started with. Like this. Is this a good cheap starting point for what I need? I'm worried about the z-axis height.

2. I'm assuming I might need a 4-axis machine to do this? Or maybe just a 2-axis machine like a lathe/mill cnc thing? What would be the ideal rig structure?