508,286 active members
3,138 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Machine Controllers Software and Solutions > PlanetCNC > Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3

    Question Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    I have a Mk3/4 board with an Output Board. I have connected the spindle as shown using the instructions on your website. All is working very well.

    I don't seem to see a way of having both the spindle and coolant connected and controlled with Mk3/4 and the Output Board, am I wrong?

    As a reference I followed this instruction link:

    https://planet-cnc.com/controlling-s...-output-board/

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board

    Could I have it wired without the REV(on VFD) from relay 2. So only relay 1 to switch ON and run FOR (on VFD).

    This would then enable a spare pin (OUT2) on the Mk3/4 board. Or does the VFD require both FOR and REV to be connected?

  3. #3
    Moderator PlanetCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    348

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board

    Sure, you can use second and third relay for your coolant needs. See which pins control which relays. All described here:
    https://planet-cnc.com/using-output-...c-controllers/

  4. #4
    Moderator PlanetCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    348

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board

    Yes, you can use only one relay for VFD and the rest for your coolant needs.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    Fantastic, thank you
    :cheers:

  6. #6

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    Hello,

    I am trying to accomplish the same as MaoriMan. I've currently got my MK3/4 connected to the output board as follows:
    GND to 0
    Out1 to RLY1
    Out2 to RLY2
    Out6 to S

    From what I understand, I should connect my output board to VFD for speed control only as follows:
    GND to ACM
    0-10V to V1
    RLY1: NO to FWD
    RLY1: 1 to DCM

    I'd like to use relay 2 for coolant mist, controlled via 12V solenoid valve. I think I should connect as follows:
    RLY2: NO to solenoid valve 12v+ input
    RLY2: 2 to solenoid valve ground/negative input

    My question is: Is all of the above correct? Do I also need to connect 12V power from 12V transformer to the 12V power input on the output board? Is there anything else I'm missing?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    20

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    @ iBigNTastyi

    Hope the enclosed diagram helps.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Diagram.jpg  

  8. #8

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    Quote Originally Posted by SkiPatrol View Post
    @ iBigNTastyi

    Hope the enclosed diagram helps.
    That's very different than what I had thought... What are the 12v and GND pins on the output board used for?

  9. #9

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    20

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    The output board requires "external" 12V power supply connected to the terminal labeled "power" and make sure to be careful with the polarity.

    https://planet-cnc.com/using-output-...c-controllers/

    Under "Control Input Terminals:" section ...

    [POWER; GND, 12V] used to connect power supply (12V DC, at least 200mA ), input

    To clarify even further, the Output Board requires 12V to "operate" and its designed to only supply the variable voltage output of 0-10V to the VFD. The relays do not supply any voltage ... they simply toggle in state and it's up to you to wire them "normally open" or "normally closed". Furthermore, since the individual relays are only used to switch electrical circuits on and off you can run different voltages thru them giving the Output Board the ability to control different peripherals that can operate at different AC and DC voltages.

  10. #10

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    That perfectly clarifies it. Thank you!

  11. #11

    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    20

    Re: Connecting Spindle and Coolant to an Output Board?

    Glad to help ...

    Also, you can use M62 "Output M-Code" via the MDI to turn your relays on/off and monitor their state using the software's IO tab.

    Example: for relay on output pin# 2
    M62 P2 Q1 (turns relay ON)
    M62 P2 Q0 (turns relay OFF)

    Example: for relay on output pin# 8
    M62 P8 Q1 (turns relay ON)
    M62 P8 Q0 (turns relay OFF)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2017, 12:29 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-20-2017, 09:30 PM
  3. Connecting spindle to breakout board
    By waterrat in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-01-2014, 11:58 PM
  4. Connecting a breakout board to spindle speed control
    By waisberg in forum Commercial CNC Wood Routers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-25-2012, 08:04 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •