585,705 active members*
4,381 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > BobCad-Cam > V-Carve questions v24

V-Carve questions v24

Hello All,
    Thank you for taking your time to read this.
    I'm trying to make a v carved sign. I have a lot of general cnc routing experience but not much in the sign making area. My issue is when I choose to rough the area before using a v bit tool I have to use the final depth of cut on the v tool. If I don't it won't recognize some of the geometry and on the second pass it will run the bit straight through existing lettering. So if I use a a pocket depth of .250" , I can set the depth of cut on the roughing tool at .125". No problem. It roughs out fine in two passes. If I set the depth of cut on the v tool at .125 it will run through some of the letters on the second cut. If I set the doc on the v tool at .250 the tool path is fine, other than it's cutting too much and chunks some edges and peaks. Maybe it's supposed to work that way and I need to adjust the step over?? Any help would be great
    Attachment 394290

Please see the attached pic. The tool passes through the top right of the "R" at a.125" doc
    I have tried lots of different approaches and anytime I have a border as part of the geometry I incur something similar. A simple v cut inside lettering works fine.

.converted bbcd o dxf and file is attached
    Thanks Again-
    Vince

I am having issues too version 30

Re: V-Carve questions v24

I've used V-Carve in V25 with the option to clear larger areas with an endmill first without issues, I just followed the procedure on the training DVDs

Hi Vince

Seems to work fine here, but hard to see on the old Verify here as my current Graphics Card doesn`t like it !!