585,962 active members*
3,640 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Tormach Personal CNC Mill > What determines the rotational speed of the A axis - Tormach control, F360, the post?

What determines the rotational speed of the A axis - Tormach control, F360, the post?

Hi guys,
    I'm a relative noob to the CNC world, but I've had my 1100 for a year now. Lately I've been making a couple 4th axis parts in quantity. I have the 8 inch superspacer. I program everything in Fusion360.
    What or where is the rotational speed of the A axis set? In the G-code I see the F numbers on A moves are in the thousands, but relative to the programmed tool feed, the A rotation seems to be very conservative. IE - I'm running a 3/8 corncob in 2024 taking it easy at 40IPM, but the tool never gets there in an adaptive strategy because most of the movement is in A.

Thanks,
    -TJ

Re: What determines the rotational speed of the A axis - Tormach control, F360, the p

A axis speeds are set in the machine you have them way more than the linear axis you will need to see what is set in the machine and go from there.
    http://danielscnc.webs.com/

being disabled is not a hindrance it gives you attitude
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Re: What determines the rotational speed of the A axis - Tormach control, F360, the p

If I understand your question correctly the answer is complicated!

See the section titled "Feed Rate" which is near the end of Section 7.1 of the Tormach Pathpilot documentation and also the description of G93. Operation is different in Mach3.

In the simple case of moving only the A-axis, the F word value specifies the rotation rate in degrees/minute. If moving only X,Y,Z then the F word specifies the rate in inches or mm per minute. If doing coordinated 4-axis moves then things become a little un-intuitive and you probably want to use inverse time mode specified by G93.