585,914 active members*
3,887 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Page 5 of 5 345
Results 81 to 99 of 99
  1. #81
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi Tom,

    You should be able to do this. Instead of Zeroing use the "SetX" button and enter the measured diameter.
    Will give it a go.

    The canned cycles iam refering to is like the ones Fanuc uses, see links below.

    Fanuc G71 Turning Cycle - Helman CNC
    CNC Fanuc G72 Canned Cycle Facing - Helman CNC

    Thanks,
    Troy

  2. #82
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Sounds like Morays C program should be great for X. Tom if you used "SetX" wouldnt that set a G54 value and not actually set anything for the tool? A second tool, would just set another different value for g54 then, so not sure that would work. Whatever your doing for Z in your mill should work in the lathe too. Bunch of ways of doing it, everybody has their favorite.

    I have a friend who uses Mach3 on a lathe and it seems to work well. Generates its own code for simple stuff like Moray is saying. I wouldnt use it as a controller, but probably not a bad idea to generate some basic code. Tom, the G71 roughing cycles (not actually a canned cycle) are basically used to define finished shape of a part, and the control generates multiple depth passes to rough out the final shape without a million lines of code. Probably not an easy thing to add.

    Troy, post some pics of the press brake as your building it. Thats a project ive been meaning to do soon too.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Tom if you used "SetX" wouldnt that set a G54 value and not actually set anything for the tool? A second tool, would just set another different value for g54 then, so not sure that would work.
    Thats what i just found out. Although i think it just sets the global as the Work offsets dont change when set X.

    Troy

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi mark,
    Here is 1st stages of press.
    Attachment 407336Attachment 407338

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    355

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Here's the code from an old backup I've got on my laptop, although I have a niggle in my mind that I had to change the offset calculation on the lathe.

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    355

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Here's the code from an old backup I've got on my laptop, although I have a niggle in my mind that I had to change the offset calculation on the lathe.
    I would got out to the workshop to check, but I'm choked with a cold so have been having a very lazy weekend staying inside where it's warm!

    Couple notes are this checks to ensure you're in metric mode, and you have to move the X axis back to the cut position before setting the offset I.e. if you do a pass at 10mm then pull out to stop rubbing, you have to ensure the axis is moved back to 10mm before running this offset program. I normally do a single pass, pull out, move far enough in Z to clear the stock, move X back to the cut depth, then run the program.

    Code:
    #include "KMotionDef.h"
    #include "cyclone.h"
    #include "KflopToKMotionCNCFunctions.c"
    
    main()
    {
    	int	Units, TWORD, HWORD, DWORD;
    	double DROx, DROy, DROz, DROa, DROb, DROc, OffsetX;
    	double XMeasured, XDiff, XNewOffset;
    	float XEntered;
    	// get current DRO reading (we only need X, but we have to handle them all)
    	GetDROs(&DROx, &DROy, &DROz, &DROa, &DROb, &DROc);
    	// get the current Units and ToolTblID (and ignore the H and D Words)
    	GetMiscSettings(&Units, &TWORD, &HWORD, &DWORD);
    	// if KMotionCNC is in inch/G20 mode, then quit as it shouldn't be
    	if(Units == CANON_UNITS_INCHES){
    		MsgBox("KMotion set to inches. Set to MM and retry",MB_OK|MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
    		ThreadDone();
    	}
    	// get the X offset from the tool table using the TWORD as index
    	GetToolOffsetX(TWORD, &OffsetX);
    	// now we have those, ask the operator for the actual size
    	int Answer = InputBox("Enter measured diameter in MM",&XEntered);
    	printf("Entered Value-%f\n",XEntered);
    	XMeasured = XEntered;
    	if(Answer) {	// if true/1, then user cancelled
    		MsgBox("X Offset adjustment cancelled",MB_OK|MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);
    		ThreadDone;		// and kill the thread
    	} else { // else we got a value and need to do some calcs
    		// first up we'll calculate the difference
    		XDiff = DROx - XMeasured;
    		// then the new offset with some rounding
    		XNewOffset = RoundToReasonable(OffsetX + XDiff,Units);
    		// and finally update the tool table
    		SetToolOffsetX(TWORD, XNewOffset);
    	}
    }
    And I've just noticed that calls my cyclone header file. You can delete that line, and just add a define for TMP if you don't already have one.
    This was one of the included example files that I modified.

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi m_c,
    Dont blame ya on the cold, its getting like that here.

    Just did a quick eyeball check and it looks like C program worked great. Will do an actual test cut and reset tools to see if calculation is correct.

    Thanks again,
    Troy

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Here is another part for press.... fresh off the press
    Troy Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20181211_210535.jpeg 
Views:	0 
Size:	96.7 KB 
ID:	407530

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Here is completed press break attachment. Did some test bends at they came out good. Will be making my servo covers with it in a few days and post some more pics then.
    TroyAttachment 408068Attachment 408070

  10. #90
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4045

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi Troy,

    So what moves the press to do the bend?
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  11. #91
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi Tom,
    This attachment will go in a H- frame hydraulic press. Will post a pic of it when I make my gaurds.
    Troy

  12. #92
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    537

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Nice work, is it just mild steel or something harder? Is that a purchased piece in the bottom or did you machine that too?

  13. #93
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Top and bottom shoe are mild steel. Top punch is 4140 and the bottom die I thought was 4140 but was definatly not as it machined like D2. Got materials at a shop I used to work at. Machined everything here at home.

  14. #94
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Here is press attachment on the press.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20181221_180423.jpeg 
Views:	0 
Size:	69.5 KB 
ID:	408268Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20181221_180234.jpeg 
Views:	0 
Size:	47.8 KB 
ID:	408270

  15. #95
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4045

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Your work is so nice. What is the gear gizmo on the right? Does that somehow measure the press distance?
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

  16. #96
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Hi Tom,
    Thanks, thats what i believe about your coding work.But, what i lack in C code skills i think i make up in other areas. The gizmo is just a boat winch modified slightly with a cable that attaches to both sides of the press table to raise and lower it with a cordless drill. Its a bit to heavy to change height without assistance.
    Troy

  17. #97
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    Just realized had not shown my covers i made nor updated where machine is. Also been waiting almost 2 months for my z axis ballscrew Covers to be made.
    Here is some pics of paint prep.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PaintPrep1.jpg   PaintPrep2.jpg   PaintPrep3.jpg  

  18. #98
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    578

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    more paint pics and views of servo motor covers...

  19. #99
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    11

    Re: SBL Magnaturn Retrofit

    I'm just wondering how this project is working out. I have a number of these machines and am considering their destiny.

Page 5 of 5 345

Similar Threads

  1. SBL, MagnaTurn 612
    By GD&T in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 04:23 AM
  2. SBL, MagnaTurn 612
    By GD&T in forum Machinery Manuals / Brochures
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 04:17 AM
  3. info on SBL Magnaturn 612
    By moldmker in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 08:27 PM
  4. MagnaTurn 612
    By dustydragon in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2007, 02:37 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •