585,948 active members*
3,630 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Manufacturing Processes > Turning > Shutte SF32SDNT inconsistent cutoff.

Shutte SF32SDNT inconsistent cutoff.

Hello everyone, Im fairly new to the machinist world let alone working with multispindle machines so I apologize for my ignorance in advance. Now that thats out of the way, I operate a 1995 6 spindle Shutte SF32SDNT series 42 (with a cnc on the 4th spindle position) that runs for 24 hours straight. The part we're making has about a 100 micron tolerance on the overall length. Normally the machine has no problems keeping the parts within about 50-70 microns of each other, but about a week ago it suddenly started having issues keeping the parts even up to 200 microns between the shortest and longest part.
    About 80 percent of the parts are coming out in tolerance. The length tends to move back and forth short and long and will occasionally cut off a couple parts that are significantly (20-50 microns) shorter or longer than the rest. And some parts seem to be getting cut off crooked. One side of the face on the cut off end of the part will be about 20-50 microns shorter than the other. So if the part is a tube. Measuring the length with a drop indicator will show a varying length as you rotate the part around its center.
    The two chamfers (one on each end of the tube) are supposed to vary their depth slightly moving with the length of the parts. But now both chamfers seem to stay around the same depth most of the time regardless of the length and only follow the length of the part sometimes.