585,722 active members*
4,336 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Stepper Motors / Drives > Is there a basic primer on stepper motors for a newbie?

Is there a basic primer on stepper motors for a newbie?

I'm planning a spindle cutting machine for cutting rope twists and so on. I have no experience (yet!) in building a machine or use stepper motors so I wondered if there was a 'stepper motors for CNC for dummies' somewhere?

At the moment I'm just seeing a lot about 'nema' 17s and 23s and don't dont what they are so I know very little.

I attached a plan of my early design for comment. My impression at the moment is that I don't need huge stepper motors because I'm just rotating a small piece of work (wooden spindle max 2" x 10") and positioning a router bit but as you can tell i dont really have the first idea!

For reference, the second photo is a small (90mm x 300mm) xy table which I intend to cannibalise for the cross slide and maybe the bed.

Any thoughts VERY welcome!

Re: Is there a basic primer on stepper motors for a newbie?

Just dont buy anything until you've spent a few months doing research.
    Im in a hurry right now, but I'll try to lock later.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Just dont buy anything until you've spent a few months doing research.
    Im in a hurry right now, but I'll try to lock later.
    Thanks for that. Any help greatfully received. I don't. Know where to start with stepper motors I've got a learning curve to climb before I get any!